Research Guides: HIST 405- History of Early America (UNH Manchester): Websites

Evaluating websites

Evaluate any website you use in your paper very carefully. Use the following criteria to determine if a website is appropriate for your research:

Hartness Library (2012, June 22). Credible websites? [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AFEwwG7rq0E.

Government Information Department - UNH is a Federal Repository for Government Documents.

Congressional Publications
Search for current and past activity in Congress on your subject.
GPO Access
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from GPO Access can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted.

Guide to Law Online
An annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.
Official Document System (ODS) of the United Nations
Database of UNH documents; it has full-text, born-digital UNH documents published from 1993-current including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records.Note: Not included: documents issued before 1993 that haven't yet been digitized, press releases, sales publications (such as the Yearbook and the Treaty Series, and documents that don't have a UN symbol.

World Development Indicators
Provides direct access to more than 800 development indicators, with time series for 209 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2008.

AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
Full-text historical documents from the 15th century to the present.
American Colonist's Library
An online collection of primary source materials from the American colonial period.
Archiving Early America
Primary source materials from the 18th Century.
Census of Population and Housing
A U.S. Census Bureau collection containing decennial censuses 1790 - 1860 and 1990 and 2000.
Charters of Freedom
The Declaration of Independence, Constitution of the United States, and Bill of Rights from the National Archives and Records Administration.
Our Documents: 100 Milestone Documents
Primary sources from Pre-Colonial to the present day.
American Memory Map Collections
This collection focuses on "Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress" from 1544 - 1999 and is fully searchable by title, creator, subject, and keyword. Includes a geographic location index.
Making of America (MOA)
"The Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction."

Remember to evaluate any website you use in your paper very carefully. The following resources can help you think critically about websites.