Research Guides: BUS 400: Introduction to Business (UNH Manchester): Business Plan Resources

Business Plan e-Books

Brilliant Business Plan by Kevan Williams
ISBN: 9780273742524
Publication Date: 2011-01-13
Digital Marketing All-In-One for Dummies by Stephanie Diamond
ISBN: 9781119560234
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
Unlock the value in online marketing A well-executed digital marketing plan is a proven component of success in business, and Digital Marketing All-In-One For Dummies covers everything you need to build and implement a winning plan.
Entrepreneurial Marketing by Edwin J. Nijssen
ISBN: 1000436438
Publication Date: 2021-09-14
Entrepreneurial Marketing provides a vital guide to successfully developing customer demand and a market for innovative new products.
FT Essential Guide to Writing a Business Plan by Vaughan Evans
ISBN: 9781292085166
How to Write a Marketing Plan by John Westwood
ISBN: 9781398605695
Publication Date: 2022-07-03
A step-by-step guide to creating a successful marketing plan: from carrying out a marketing audit, setting objectives and devising budgets to writing, presenting and implementing the plan.
The One-Hour Business Plan by John McAdam
ISBN: 9781118747155
Publication Date: 2013-09-12
Start a Successful Business by Colleen DeBaise
ISBN: 0814439195
Publication Date: 2018-02-01
"With stories and advice from a fleet of trusted experts, this book is for anyone wishing to get their business off the ground and become the next wildly successful entrepreneur everyone is reading about."
Starting a Business All-In-One for Dummies by Eric Tyson; Bob Nelson
ISBN: 9781119868576
Publication Date: 2022-03-02
"This guide will help with every part of starting your own business--from legal considerations to business plans, bookkeeping, and beyond."

Key Online Resources

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
Choose New Hampshire
Export.gov New Hampshire
The U.S. Commercial Service is the lead trade promotion agency of the U.S. government. U.S. Commercial Service trade professionals in over 100 U.S. cities and more than 75 countries help U.S. companies get started in exporting or increase sales to new global markets.
Importing and Exporting (USA.gov)
IRS Checklist for Starting a Business
Licenses & Permits: Federal
New Hampshire Small Business Development Center
NH SBDC has offered confidential business management advising and educational programs to more than 94,000 New Hampshire entrepreneurs, helping them to start over 2,000 businesses and create more than 7,000 jobs since 1984.
NH.gov Business Resources
The page links you to some of the government services and information you need to start and operate a business.
NH Employment Security: Economic & Labor Market Information Bureau
NH QuickStart
Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)
SBA: Register Your Business
SBA Business Plan Tool
Small Business Administration
Small Business Administration: Choose a Business Structure
"The business structure you choose influences everything from day-to-day operations, to taxes and how much of your personal assets are at risk. You should choose a business structure that gives you the right balance of legal protections and benefits."
TED talks on entrepreneurship
USA.gov Small Business Resources
A website outlining legal requirements, government services, and financing options available for starting a business.

Recommended Websites

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: Economic News Releases
U.S. Census Bureau: Business and Economy
"The Census Bureau produces economic data across the entire economy on a monthly, quarterly, yearly, and five-year basis."
U.S. Department of Commerce: Economic Indicators
"The world’s most trusted, impartial source of comprehensive data about the U.S. economy."
NH Employment Security: Economic and Labor Market Information Bureau

Key Databases

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Offers access to peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Includes Industry Research Reports that provide key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants; Industry Risk Rating Reports that determine how much risk an industry will face over the next 18 months by assessing the operating conditions for companies in the industry; Global Industry Reports that assess industry performance in key regions like Europe, the Middle East, Africa; and: Business Environment Reports that list key factors outside the control of an organization that determine the performance of the industry.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to resources covering company, country, industry, and product intelligence as well as business strategies and news and opinion.
Mergent First Research This link opens in a new window
Provides industry profiles covering thousands of industry segments, containing critical analysis, statistics, and forecasts.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
An integration of various databases containing company information and documents. Moody's Industrial Manual and the EDGAR filings are included in this database along with Company Data Direct, both US and international. Mergent Online can create spreadsheet-ready financial formats and is updated continuously.
Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Formerly ReferenceUSA; a reference and research database providing accurate data for businesses and consumers.
Statista: The Statistics Portal This link opens in a new window
Tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
Wall Street Journal (Current) This link opens in a new window
Access in HTML format to WSJ, which has extensive coverage of stock markets, finance, company news, investments and business-oriented news as well as in-depth features focusing on the national and world economy. Searchable by keyword, type of articles, etc. Dates of coverage: Jan. 8, 2010-current

Funding Your Business

GrantStation
Grant resources for nonprofits.
Small Business Administration: Calculate Your Startup Costs
"How much money will it take to start your small business? Calculate the startup costs for your small business so you can request funding, attract investors, and estimate when you’ll turn a profit."
Small Business Adminstration: Loans
"Start or expand your business with loans guaranteed by the Small Business Administration. Use Lender Match to find lenders that offer loans for your business."
Small Business Association: Fund Your Business
"It costs money to start a business. Funding your business is one of the first — and most important — financial choices most business owners make. How you choose to fund your business could affect how you structure and run your business."
USA.GOV Finance Your Business
"Find loans backed by the government and other funding options. Learn about emergency loans and tax relief available to businesses during the COVID-19 pandemic."

Target Funding: a Proven System to Get the Money and Resources You Need to Start or Grow Your Business by Kedma Ough
ISBN: 9781260132366
Publication Date: 2019-07-22

Business Organization and Marketing

NH Small Business Association Resource Center
SBA: Choose a Business Structure
"The business structure you choose influences everything from day-to-day operations, to taxes and how much of your personal assets are at risk. You should choose a business structure that gives you the right balance of legal protections and benefits."