Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Biography in Context
Offers over 600,000 biographies spanning history and geography with over 50,000 new and/or updated biographies added annually.
The following reference resources provide background and context on a topic and are good springboards to further research materials. They may also help to narrow down a broad topic and to focus a research question. Encourage students to use them to discover key terms and people related to a topic, to develop potential theses, and to locate additional resources through bibliographies.
Contains original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, providing in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
Britannica Academic Edition combines the Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.
World News Digest (Facts on File)
Archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly, covering all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
Congressional Research Service Reports
Public policy briefs issued by the Congressional Research Service to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest. Includes reports through 2018 when the CRS started releasing reports directly to the public.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3), and recent online updates.