Research Guides: Journalism (UNH Durham): Research Quick Start

Find Background Information

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Contains original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, providing in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published 44 times a year by CQ Press. Note: There is a limit of 10 concurrent users. Dates of coverage: 1991-current

CREDO Reference
An online reference library that provides access to a selection of reputable reference books including specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.

Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Book of the Year, and an Internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.

The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Mass Media and Society by Debra L. Merskin (Editor)
ISBN: 9781483375533
Publication Date: 2019-12-17
The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Mass Media and Society discusses media around the world in their varied forms--newspapers, magazines, radio, television, film, books, music, websites, social media, mobile media--and describes the role of each in both mirroring and shaping society. This encyclopedia provides a thorough overview of media within social and cultural contexts, exploring the development of the mediated communication industry, mediated communication regulations, and societal interactions and effects. This reference work will look at issues such as free expression and government regulation of media; how people choose what media to watch, listen to, and read; and how the influence of those who control media organizations may be changing as new media empower previously unheard voices. The role of media in society will be explored from international, multidisciplinary perspectives via approximately 700 articles drawing on research from communication and media studies, sociology, anthropology, social psychology, politics, and business.