Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subject Specific Databases
Academic Search Ultimate
Offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
America: History and Life With Full Text
Index to over 1,900 sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Offers indexing and abstracts for over 400 journals, including full text for nearly 200 journals
Film & Television Literature Index
A bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.
Film Index International
An information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides truly international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. Coverage is not designed for current material, thus it does not cover information from the most recent 2 to 5 years.
Kanopy Streaming Service
Access an ever-growing library of videos across diverse content areas.
Full text for 155 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, 6 newswires, and abstracts for four national newspapers. Publication date coverage: 1995 to present.
Full text of hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Ability to search for thousands of peer-reviewed digital books from over 65 major university presses and scholarly publishers (full text for most books isn’t available in our subscription).
Types of Articles
Details about types of articles
This grid describes the types of periodical articles--scholarly, popular, and newspaper--that you will find in the online databases.
Each type of periodical has its own purpose, intent, and audience.
Types of Periodicals:
- Research Journals
Request an Article from Another Library
It is possible to request items (books, journal articles, videos, etc.) from other libraries—across town, across the state and even across the country—by using a service known as Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Ulrichsweb is an easy-to-search source which provides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals.
Look for the Refereed symbol next to the journal title in this database of information about journals