Research Guides: HIST 425- Foreign Cultures/The Caribbean (UNH Manchester): 02 Databases to Search

Check for Full Text

Check for Full Text – When searching for articles in databases, you will often see this button in the list of results. The "Check for Full Text" button will initiate a search in all of the UNH databases to see if the article is available in full text in another database. Taking this extra step saves you time in obtaining copies of articles.

eBooks

Research Tip: Besides the recommended eBook database, do an initial keyword search in our library catalog and then limit it to "ebooks."

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An online book collection that spans all academic subject areas. It includes books, reports, and other authoritative content from leading publishers.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Search and view the full text of eBooks covering a wide range of topics.
Safari Tech Books Online This link opens in a new window
See O'Reilly.

History Databases

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index to sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations as well as journal article citations. Dates of coverage: 1955-current

Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Index to sources on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life with Full Text), from over 2,500 journals in over 40 languages.
Project MUSE
Full text of hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos touching on all disciplines.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index to sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations as well as journal article citations. Dates of coverage: 1955-current
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, policy briefs and case studies by leading scholars.

Scholarship is a Conversation

University of Washington Libraries. (2016, March 15). Research 101: Scholarship is a conversation [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WB9pAZPJp_g

Evaluating Articles

Details about evaluation criteria
Here are some questions to ask yourself about articles you locate while doing research.

You will also need to evaluate each article you find to determine if it is appropriate for you to use in your work. Use the following criteria to evaluate your articles.

Criteria:

Relevance
Timeliness
References
Reliability
Validity
Credibility
Perspective
Purpose
Commercialism
Intended Audience
Sophistication