Research Guides: KIN 515: History of Outdoor Pursuits: Find Secondary Sources

What is a Secondary Source?

A secondary source interprets, analyzes, or organizes primary sources. These can include:

UNH Digital Collections
The New Hampshire (TNH) is the UNH school newspaper. This digital collection provides access to TNH from 1911-1976. From the digital collections, click on "UNH Publications". Then, click on "The New Hampshire" on the left hand navigation.
UNH Publication Index
Search UNH publications including:
"The New Hampshire" (1911-1951)
"Campus Journal" (1962-1984)
The University of New Hampshire Magazine" (2005-present)

America: History and Life with Full Text
Index to sources on the history, social, cultural life, of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Index to sources on history, social, cultural life etc. Covers period from 1450 to the present, excluding the US and Canada.
Sociological Abstracts
Citations and summaries of journal articles, books, dissertations, etc in the field of sociology and related disciplines.

SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of sports including physical fitness, physical education, sports medicine, training, coaching, facilities, equipment, history of sport, and recreation. Indexes international periodicals in sports, education, and medicine. Created by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC). Dates of coverage: 1800-current

New York Times Digital Archive with Index
Provides digital reproductions of every page of every issue.
Useful to find profiles, obituaries, interviews, reviews etc.
Dates of Coverage: 1851-three years ago.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos touching on all disciplines.

Sports Business Research Network
SBRnet focuses on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry, and provides resources featuring market research and industry news.