Skip to main content

UMST 526- Social Justice and Student Leadership: Fact Checking Web Sites

Fact-Checking Web Sites

FactCheck.org

A nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics.

FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. The APPC was established by publisher and philanthropist Walter Annenberg to create a community of scholars within the University of Pennsylvania that would address public policy issues at the local, state and federal levels.

Snopes.com

What began in 1995 as an expression of interest in researching urban legends has since grown into what is widely regarded by folklorists, journalists, and laypersons alike as one of the World Wide Web's essential resources. Snopes.com has come to be regarded as an online touchstone of rumor research. The site's work has been described as painstaking, scholarly, and reliable.

Politifact.com

PolitiFact is a fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others who speak up in American politics.

Opensecrets.org

Nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit, the Center for Responsive Politics is the nation's premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy.

Procon.org

ProCon.org, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit nonpartisan public charity, provides professionally-researched pro, con, and related information on more than 50 controversial issues from gun control and death penalty to illegal immigration and alternative energy. Using the fair, FREE, and unbiased resources at ProCon.org, millions of people each year learn new facts, think critically about both sides of important issues, and strengthen their minds and opinions.

Library News Databases

Newspaper Source

Cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, selective full text for more than 330 regional U.S. newspapers, and full-text transcripts from sources such as CBS News, CNN, FOX News, NPR, etc.

Lexis Nexis Academic

Database of news, business, legal and government information. News resources include international and national newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and broadcast media transcripts. Legal resources include state and federal statutes, regulations, case law, and law reviews/journals. Also includes extensive legal guides by subject and EU legal sources.

Global Newsstream

Enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.