Reference Sources - ANTH 640 - Anthropology of Islam (UNH Durham)

Selected Print Reference Sources

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
Call Number: Dimond Reference DS 35.53 .O96 2009
ISBN: 0195305132
6 volumes

These are located on Dimond Main Level and represent just a sampling. For more reference resources, search the library catalog or contact the Research Center.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Call Number: Dimond Reference BP 40 .E525 2004
ISBN: 0028656032
2 volumes

Selected Online Reference Resources

Search for definitions and descriptions from an online collection of high quality reference sources in sociology.

Encyclopaedia of Islam (3rd ed.) This link opens in a new window
Appears in substantial segments each year, both online and in print. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world.
Encyclopaedia of Islam (2nd ed.) This link opens in a new window
Sets out the present state of knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a source for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society This link opens in a new window
Provide users with a "gender lens" on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.
Multimedia Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World This link opens in a new window
Looks at women today and delves into contexts of being female in the 21st century. The scope of the encyclopedia focuses on women's status starting approximately in the year 2000 and looks forward. From A-to-Z, this work covers the spectrum of defining women in the contemporary world. Published 2011

CREDO reference
Access a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.

Why Use?

Good places to gather background information on a topic or get ideas when choosing a topic.

Background information:

definitions
specific factual information such as dates
overviews or summaries of topics
recommendations for additional sources

Types of reference sources

specialized encyclopedias
dictionaries
directories
statistical compilations
handbooks
bibliographies

For More Help

Ask a Librarian

Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian

ANTH 640 - Anthropology of Islam (UNH Durham): Reference Sources

Selected Print Reference Sources

Selected Online Reference Resources

Why Use?

For More Help