​Using HathiTrust

Collections are a useful way to pull together material. Anyone can search collections that users have created and made public.  Because we are an institutional member, UNH users can create their own collections and either keep them private or share them for public use. To get started, make sure to sign into the HathiTrust website, then click on the collections tab at the top of the home page.

Clicking on the Collections tab at the top of the homepage brings up a list of all the collections created and made public by HathiTrust users.  You can sort these collections by number of items, title, or owner. You can also search collections by keyword. There is no advanced search for collections.

To Create a New Collection

• Log in to HathiTrust
• From the collections page click on "New Collection"
• Supply a Collection Name and a description.
• Choose if you want the collection to be public or private

Once you have created the collection, you can add items to it. Once you have done a search to locate items you want to add to the collection\

• Search for items you want to add to the collection
• On the search results page, check the box to the left of the title, or you can choose to select all on one page
• Locate the "Select Collection" box and choose the select you want the items to be added to. Note under the Select Collection dropdown list you have the option of creating a new collection.
• Click on the add selected button.  This will add the selected titles to the selected collection

• Log in to Hathi Trust
• Click on "My Collections" at the top of the page
• You have options here to change of collection to public or private, or to delete the collection.
• When you click on the collections title you view all the items in the collection. Here you have the option of moving titles to another collections or removing items from the collection