Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

​Using HathiTrust

Description of how to find and use Hathi Trust resources at the University of New Hampshire

Description

Our HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) access is a COVID-19 emergency measure designed to support HathiTrust member libraries by providing temporary access to UNH-owned print library material online. This increases flexibility and access to research materials in the case that physical collections are not available to researchers as they normally have been (as when classes are remote, or there are restrictions on building use).

While we have this service Libraries will not circulate print books that are available through ETAS. The service is available only in these emergency circumstances and under the principle of allowing 1 user for 1 copy of a book.  If you have questions about this service feel free to reach out to a subject librarian or reach out through chat.

 

 If books are found via a Library Search, the text "Print Version Unavailable for Checkout" will be displayed with the results. Those materials will all also contain links to the full text online (“Full Text Available at HathiTrust”).

In the library: If a book is found browsing the shelves within the building and is brought to staff at the Circulation Desk, the system will prevent it from being checked out.  

The Emergency Temporary Access Service enables:    

  • Students, faculty and staff to log in to HathiTrust and view all books published before 2004 that HathiTrust has verified as being held in UNH Libraries' print collection, even if in copyright.   

  • Students, faculty and staff to read and search these books online. Books cannot be downloaded in full.    

  • For each copy of a work in our collection, one simultaneous checkout will be allowed. The access is provided on a one-to-one basis—that is, if the library has three print copies of a work, only three patrons can access the title at a time.

  • To learn more about the ETAS service see information on HathiTrust ETAS information for users.

The ETAS collection will be available while our physical collections are not accessible or access to collections is limited. 

How to access the collection  

  1. From anywhere on the HathiTrust website, click the yellow LOG IN button.  

  2. Find and select the University of New Hampshire in the list of partner institutions.   

  3. Log in with your UNH id and password.   

  4. When you have logged in, you will be returned to the HathiTrust website, where you can search the HathiTrust collection.  

  5. In your search results, look for items labeled 'Temporary Access'. 

Terms of Use Statement

Digital works that have been made available through HathiTrust’s Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) are solely for the use of a student, staff member, faculty member or library patron of a participating Canadian institution on the basis of fair dealing for research, private study, education, parody, satire, criticism or review only. You may only view and access these digital works for the foregoing purpose(s) during any period that these digital works are made available by the library. Any downloading, reproduction, fixation, distribution, transmission, dissemination, communication, or any other uses, may be an infringement of copyright if done without securing the permission of the copyright owner. You may not distribute, e-mail or otherwise communicate these materials to any other person.