Cold War Europe - Berwick Academy: Primary Source Websites and Newspapers

The Avalon Project is a digital library of documents relating to law, history and diplomacy. The project is part of the Yale Law School Lillian Goldman Law Library.

US and international primary source links

Presents the official documentary historical record of major US foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The United States Department of State Office of the Historian offers online index searching for documents by keyword as well as limited full-text searching through the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections.

Online collections of Harry S Truman

The Miller Center is a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy, and political history and strives to apply the lessons of history and civil discourse to the nation's most pressing contemporary governance challenges.

This research tool searches the growing collection of primary-source documents the National Security Archive has published on this web site. New materials are added frequently. The listing is chronological.

Digitized collections from the Hoover institution, including radio programs, speeches, photographs and more

From the National Security Archive

A collection of photographs, political cartoons, posters, and movies from the United States and Soviet Union.

Cold War letters, treaties, dispatches and other primary sources, including documents relating to international crises, the roles of specific countries or areas, communist activities, notebooks of famous Russian leaders, as well as intelligence and military operations. One of the specialties of this site is "new findings from previously inaccessible sources on "the other side" -- the former Communist world."

The Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System Online provides access to digitized materials selected from the Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System (HPSSS). The digital collection consists chiefly of summary transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War. A unique source for the study of Soviet society between 1917 and the mid-1940s, the HPSSS includes vast amounts of one-of-a-kind data on political, economic, social and cultural conditions.

Making the History of 1989 has three key features: a substantial collection of high quality primary sources; a set of multimedia interviews that make visible the processes by which historians transform events and sources into historical narratives; and lesson plans and document based questions provide historical context, tools, and strategies for teaching the history of 1989 with primary sources in ways that make “history making” visible and vivid.