This 2-page handout describes some search techniques and how to connect to full text articles after doing a database search.
Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian
Use 2 or 3 significant words or terms from your research topic. Use the connector "AND" to retrieve records with all the keywords you list to focus and narrow your results
Develop synonyms and alternative terms. Use the connector "or" indicate that any one of the terms listed needs to be in the results shown; this usually increases the number of relevant results
Try a broader concept if a specific term doesn't retrieve enough results
Try a more specific aspect or element if you get too many results with a very broad concept
Use quotation marks to indicate a phrase
Use an asterisk * to pick up words with the same stem but different endings
Look for new words or terms to search when reviewing your results or reading the full-text article.
Some specialized databases allow you to limit your search in other useful ways: educational level, age, population group, research methodology, language, etc.
Limiter options vary by database:
Make connections through ideas and concepts rather than specific words
Look at the reference list at the end of a relevant article you found. This may lead you to earlier articles related to your topic. Search the UNH Library catalog by the name of the journal to see if we have the article online or in print.
The key database to get results from recognized, reputable academic sources in the field of psychology is
Another database that's often useful when researching certain topics in education is
Click on the Check for UNH Full Text icon in the database record to see how to get a copy of the article: whether online, in print or from another library.
This 2-minute video provides a brief demonstration.
If the UNH Library doesn't have the article you want, request it through Interlibrary Loan.
