Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Foreign Service Career Preparation

Resources for students and recent alumni interested in foreign service and related government service

Arrangement of List

Fellowships are arranged from those available to undergraduates to those for graduating seniors/alumni and graduate students.

Humanity in Action Fellowship

Tuition and accommodation for 4-week program on human rights, discrimination, and the relationship between minority and majority groups. Multiple sessions of the program take place in 1 of 5 European cities. The fellowship is highly interdisciplinary and seeks to educate, connect and inspire future leaders in the fields of human rights and social justice.

Eligible: undergraduates and recent alumni.

Due: January.

Fund for Education Abroad

Scholarships range from $1,250 – $10,000 and can be applied for any international education program that runs for at least 28 days and meets the recipient's academic objectives. Includes service learning programs and internships.

Eligible: U.S. citizen or permanent resident currently enrolled as an undergraduate at a college or university in the U.S.

Deadlines: Varies depending on application cycle

DAAD University Summer Course Grant

Funding to attend a range of 3-4 week German university summer courses in German language and literary, cultural, political and economic aspects of Germany. Award covers tuition, room and board and includes a travel subsidy.

Open to U.S. and Canadian citizens at the sophomore level or above with a strong command of the German language (at least 4 semesters of instruction).

Deadline:  December

Boren Awards for International Study

Scholarships available to students with an interest in issues of national security. Provides up to $10,000 for one semester and $20,000 for an academic year, allowing students to add an important international and language component to their educations. Study abroad must be in one of the countries/languages that are critical to U.S. interests and underrepresented in study abroad.

Eligible: Undergraduates or graduate students; must apply through office

Due: January (internal); February (external)

Critical Language Scholarships for Intensive Summer Institutes

Fully-funded intensive, overseas language instruction for 7-10 weeks in summer. Language study must continue beyond the scholarship period, and be applied to one’s professional career.

Eligible: U.S. citizen undergraduate, Masters and Ph.D. students.

Due: November

Herbert Scoville Jr. Peace Fellowship

$2,200 per month for 6-9 months of work as a junior staff member with a participating peace and security studies-oriented organization in Washington, D.C.

Eligible: Graduating seniors, recent graduates or graduate students.

Due: October for spring work placement;  January for fall work placement. 

James C. Gaither Junior Fellows Program

Offers 12-14 paid one-year fellowships to work with senior fellows at the Carnegie Endowment in Washington, D.C. in the areas of Democracy, Nuclear Policy, Energy and Climate, International Economics, Middle East Studies, South Asian Studies, South East Asian Studies, Asia Studies, and Russian/Eurasian Studies.

Eligible: seniors or recent graduates; must be nominated by university.

Due: December (internal); January (external)

Thomas R. Pickering Foreign Affairs Fellowships

Provides funding for grad school and internships to participants as they prepare academically and professionally to enter the United States Department of State Foreign Service. Women, members of minority groups historically underrepresented in the Foreign Service, and students with financial need are encouraged to apply.

Eligible: seniors or recent alumni with an undergraduate GPA of 3.2 or higher, planning to enter a master’s program in public policy, international affairs, public administration, business, economics, political science, sociology, or foreign languages.

Due: September

Rangel Fellowship

Program encourages the application of members of minority groups historically underrepresented in the Foreign Service and those with financial need. Pays for 2-year master’s degree in preparation for work in foreign service.

Eligible: seniors or recent alumni.

Due: September

Princeton in Asia

Provides transformative, service-oriented experiences for talented graduates in Cambodia, China/Hong Kong, Timor-Leste, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Laos, Mongolia, Malaysia, Nepal, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, and Vietnam. Offers teaching fellowships and opportunities in the fields of journalism, international development, and business.

Eligible: seniors and recent graduates.

Due: October

Princeton in Africa

Seeks to develop young leaders committed to Africa’s advancement. Opportunities for service through fellowships with a variety of organizations that work across the African continent in numerous fields including: humanitarian aid; public health; education; conservation; post-conflict reconstruction; and social entrepreneurship.

Eligible: seniors and recent graduates.

Due: October

Princeton in Latin America

Provides transformative, service-oriented experiences in fields including education, microfinance, environmental conservation, health, communications, and human services. for talented graduates in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Eligible: seniors and recent graduates.

Due: November

Fulbright U.S. Student Program

Offers both Study/Research and English Teaching Assistantships abroad. Includes round-trip transportation to the host country; maintenance for the academic year, based on living costs in the host country; and limited health benefits. Grants awarded in all fields and disciplines, including the sciences, professional fields, and creative and performing arts.

Eligible: Seniors, alumni, graduate  students; must apply through university if enrolled. Alumni encouraged to work with office.

Due: September (internal); October (external)