Research Guides: IA 501: Global Issues in International Affairs (UNH Durham): Articles & Databases

Initial Search Options

Library Search Box
Google Scholar

Start here!

The UNH Library search box provides one-stop searching for books and e-books; articles in newspapers, journals, and magazines; and streaming video and audio - it searches multiple databases at once.

To get relevant results, click on Advanced Search and use the Ways to Search with Keywords, Limiting Your Search Results, and Search Tips & Tricks below to research like a pro!

If you're not sure which search terms to use, try Google Scholar to start - its natural language searching may bring back articles using terms you never thought of!

Google Scholar

Google Scholar (GS) is useful for specific kinds of searching

When you don't know the right terms to search, GS uses natural language searching which can help you fish around for useful search terms.
When you find one great article, you can use GS - type in the article title, then in the listing click "cited by" to see who has cited that article in their more recent one.
When you want to look for unpublished articles or other grey literature.

Please note: you can search it like and advanced search in a database, using AND, OR, or NOT to search.

Use GS settings to choose UNH Library!

That will show you what you have access to via UNH Library in the right column.

Databases to Consider

Depending on your specific topic, one of these specialized databases may be helpful. For more online resources, check out the complete Database List.

Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Dates of coverage: 1952-current
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration. Dates of coverage: 1975-current
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index
Covers all subjects that bear on public affairs and public policy, including the policy-oriented literature of academic social sciences such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations. Indexes publications from and about all countries, PAIS Archive coverage: 1915-1976; PAIS International coverage: 1972-current
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, policy briefs and case studies by leading scholars.
EconLit with Full Text
Coverage of major economics and finance journals, including the American Economic Association journals, as well as essays, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
Women's Studies International
Covers core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science and economy, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business and education, and more.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) Online
Source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Dates of coverage: 1970-current
Handbook of Latin American Studies
A bibliography of Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Dates of coverage: 1935-current
Index Islamicus
An international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. It covers their history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. It includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims writing in European languages.
Military & Government Collection
Offers current news through a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs for all branches of the military and government.
Homeland Security Digital Library
An open-source collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.

IA 501: Global Issues in International Affairs (UNH Durham)

Reading a Social Science Article

Remember - a journal article is not a mystery novel! These steps will help you read it faster and understand it better.

Tutorials on Finding Full Text

Tutorials on How to Interlibrary Loan