Research Guides: Political Science (UNH Durham): POLT 595

Introduction

Some of the resources and recommendations that are useful for POLT 595 are located in the main Political Science guide; for example,

Other information relevant for POLT 595 is below.

Makes you an informed researcher/applicant

Provides perspective by situating your work within the knowledge base (theory & practice) of your field

Supports your research idea/proposal or identifies a gap needing further research

Provides ideas for research design; for example, quantitative or qualitative approaches or instruments to use

Provides credibility to grant proposals

Literature Reviews
Connors Writing Center handout
Writing a Literature Review (Purdue OWL)
Discusses organization of literature reviews and suggests questions useful for writing and revising them.
Learn how to write a review of literature
From The Writer's Handbook, The Writing Center @ The University of Wisconsin - Madison

American National Election Studies
From 1948, the American National Election Studies (ANES) program has produced high quality data on voting, public opinion and political participation. Cumulative, time-series, panel and contextual data are available for download.

iPoll This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a collection of poll data; all US polling firms, broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Database of public opinion polls containing the full text of questions and responses, from surveys, conducted in the United States and other countries around the world. Dates of coverage: 1986-current

America Votes
Call Number: Dimond Reference JK 1967 .A8
Includes official, state-certified election returns and key data by county and by district for House, Senate, and gubernatorial elections for 1956+

Selected sources of data that may be re-used:

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
This data archive acquires, processes, and provides access to social science data for research and instruction. ICPSR data cover many disciplines, including political science, sociology, history, economics, gerontology, demography, criminal justice, public health, education, law, and international relations.

Note: Users must register for an account. Current UNH students, faculty, and staff only are eligible for direct downloading of all datasets. Set up ICPSR MyData login account by clicking on the link in the upper left corner of the page.

Data.gov
Data.gov provides metadata (descriptions) for Federal datasets, information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. Federal and Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.
OpenDOAR - Directory of Open Access Repositories
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here.