Research Guides: Political Science (UNH Durham): POLT 760/860

Grey Literature Resources

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, policy briefs and case studies by leading scholars.
Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive indexing for US legislative information, with much full text from mid-1990s. Added in 2017 is full text for Congressional hearings (1824-1979), committee prints and Congressional Research Service reports (1830-2003), and unpublished hearings (House: 1973-1982; Senate: 1985-1992). UNH subscription. Dates of coverage: 1789-current
CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports, 2018+ This link opens in a new window
Now directly released by the CRS, which prepares these reports for the use of Congress in its legislative, oversight, and representational duties. Reports are produced on topics of interest to Congress.
CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports, 1965-2018 This link opens in a new window
Public policy briefs issued by the Congressional Research Service to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest. Funded by taxpayer money and thus all in the public domain, these reports are nonpartisan and concise.
Note: The information on this site is compiled and made available as a public service by the Government Documents Department at the University of North Texas Libraries. UNT does not make any warranty as to the accuracy, reliability, or completeness of the information and is not responsible for any errors or omissions or for results obtained from the use of the information. Distribution of the information does not constitute such a warranty. Use of the information is the sole responsibility of the user.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
An open-source collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.
DTIC (Defense Technical Information Center) Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides access to unclassified, unlimited information, including many full-text, downloadable DTIC documents available to the general public.
Statista: The Statistics Portal This link opens in a new window
Tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to statistical information from federal agencies, research organizations, international organizations, commercial publishers and associations. Provides abstracts of statistical publications and links to the full-text for selected publications.

RAND Corporation Published Research
Tens of thousands of RAND publications are available as free downloads, dating back to 1946.
The RAND Corporation is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges.

Other strategies to help identify grey literature include:

check lists of references in books or articles
search online - for example, limit Google searches to organization sites by including 'site:.org' (no quotes) in the search; use 'site:.gov' for government sites. Add keywords for your topic.
identify likely producers of grey literature (think tanks, government agencies, NGOs, etc.)
- Look for Resources, Publications, Reports, Data or similar categories on agency or organization websites
identify experts in the topic and check their CVs for their publications, reports, conference talks, etc.

If you're not familiar with the think tank, IGO, NGO, etc., it's useful to review the About Us section of their website and look for other views about the organization in order to place their work in context and better evaluate the authority and credibility of their work.

Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Includes fully-searchable text with added features such as tools for editors, a quick citation guide, and searchable access to the Chicago Style Q&A, wherein University of Chicago Press manuscript editors answer readers' editorial style questions. Coverage is for 16th-17th editions

Zotero Quick Links

ZoteroBib
ZoteroBib helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software.
Zotero
Zotero (UNH Durham)
This guide has more details on getting and using Zotero.
Library Tutorials: Zotero Series
Very brief tutorials on Zotero basics

Political Science (UNH Durham)

Newspapers

Selected Online Journals

Recommended Databases for Articles

Grey Literature Resources

Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition

Zotero Quick Links