Research Guides: Political Science (UNH Durham): POLT 751/851

Key Databases

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers deep coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Dates of coverage: 1888-current
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations to material in the agricultural and environmental sciences; includes scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Includes AGRICOLA and TOXLINE. Dates of coverage: 1960-current
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index This link opens in a new window
Covers all subjects that bear on public affairs and public policy, including the policy-oriented literature of academic social sciences such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations. Indexes publications from and about all countries, PAIS Archive coverage: 1915-1976; PAIS International coverage: 1972-current
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration. Dates of coverage: 1975-current
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, policy briefs and case studies by leading scholars.
Statista: The Statistics Portal This link opens in a new window
Tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.

Selected Environmental Information & Statistical Resources

Environment Statistics- Country Snapshots
Two-page PDFs per country provide a selection of national environment statistics, complemented by key economic and social indicators. From the UN Statistics Division.
Environment Statistics (UN Statistics Division)
Country by country statistics in topics such as air and climate, energy and minerals, forests, governance, inland water resources, land and agriculture, marine and coastal areas, natural disasters, and waste.
World Environment Situation Room
A data platform that includes geo-referenced, remote-sensing and earth observation information integrated with statistics and data on the environmental dimension of sustainable development. The platform automatically processes data to transform them into products such as images, maps, graphs (with trends), table in a format which is easy to use by mainstream software.
European Union: Environment
See link to browse the library for publications on the environment and links to related EU topics

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, featuring its books, papers and statistics, and gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. Can also browse by theme (Environment) and country by clicking on the hamburger button at the top right.

United Nations Environment Programme
See "Science & Data" section to search for information by keyword, document type, topic, region or country.
Global Environment Outlook 6 (2019)
Major publication of the UN Environment Programme
Climate Reports
Source: UN Climate Action site
List of Foreign Governments
Has links to official government portals or homepages and to legislative and executive branch institutions

Background Information

Europa World This link opens in a new window
Has political and economic information on over 250 countries and territories.

Handbook of Global Environmental Politics, 2nd ed. by Peter Dauvergne (Editor)
Call Number: Online & Print at Dimond Level 5 GE 170 .H366 2012
ISBN: 1849809410
Publication Date: 2012
The second edition of this Handbook contains more than 30 new and original articles as well as six essential updates by leading scholars of global environmental politics. This landmark book maps the latest theoretical and empirical research in this energe
Routledge Handbook of Global Environmental Politics
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781135090517
Publication Date: 2014
Describes the history of global environmental politics as a discipline and explain the various theories and perspectives used by scholars and students to understand it. Examine the key actors and institutions in global environmental politics, explaining the role of states, international organizations, regimes, international law, foreign policy institutions, domestic politics, corporations and transnational actors. Address the ideas and themes shaping the practice and study of global environmental politics, including sustainability, consumption, expertise, uncertainty, security, diplomacy, North-South relations, globalisation, justice, ethics, participation and citizenship. Assess the key issues and policies within global environmental politics, including energy, climate change, ozone depletion, air pollution, acid rain, sustainable transport, persistent organic pollutants, hazardous wastes, water, rivers, wetlands, oceans, fisheries, marine mammals, biodiversity, migratory species, natural heritage, forests, desertification, food and agriculture.

Annotated Bibliography

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
A useful guide from the Olin & Uris Libraries at Cornell Univ.
The OWL at Purdue: Annotated Bibliographies
Examples and samples are included.
Annotated Bibliographies
A detailed handout from The Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill