SW 525 - Social Welfare Policy: History of Social and Economic Justice (UNH Durham): Citing & Writing

Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian

Plagiarism is a very serious academic transgression. To learn more, check out the following resources:

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association sets the standard for the format of scholarly publications. APA style (as it is known) is used by researchers and graduate students, particularly in the social sciences. Citations using APA style allow readers to locate the materials used in your research. Therefore, your citations should be as accurate and complete as possible.

For examples of how to cite various sources, look at some of the sites listed in the Online and Print Resources box on this page.

A Digital Object Identifier or DOI is a unique identifying number that provides persistent identification. DOI numbers begin with “10”

The new APA style (6th edition) requires including the DOI, if available, in the citation of an electronic article.

Typically the DOI is located on the first page of an e-journal article near the copyright notice OR in the database record for the article.

If the DOI not available, provide the home page URL of the journal. You may need to do a quick web search for the journal title to locate this URL,

Generally don’t include database information in your citation.

Don’t include retrieval dates unless material is likely to change over time (for example, a wiki site).

Test URLs before final submission of your paper to make sure ithey are current.

Some library databases, such as those from EBSCOhost, allow you to get bibliographic information in selected styles such as APA or MLA when emailing and saving records.

RefWorks is a web-based citation management and bibliography creator tool.

It can help you...

• create bilbiographies and format citations in papers quickly, saving you time and effort;
• create, organize, and manage your own personal database of articles and resources online, accessible from anywhere via the web, for one or more research projects;
• import references easily from many databases;
• share references with others; and
• collaborate with others on one or more projects.

Create an account from a computer on the UNH network or, if off-campus, after you have logged into Blackboard and clicked on the Library tab.

The video tutorials under the Help menu are very useful and recommended to help you get started. These are available once you have logged in to your account.

If you have an questions or need help on using Refworks please contact the Reference Desk.