Research Guides: Technical Reports: Government-Based Indexes & Databases

General Resources

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) This link opens in a new window
The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence. The NTRL offers access to these authenticated government technical reports.
Science.gov This link opens in a new window
Gateway to information resources at government science agencies including science web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.

Technical Reports & Standards (TRS) - Library of Congress
The Technical Reports and Standards Unit (TRS) of the Library of Congress holds over 5 million current and historical technical reports and standards on microform, digital media and paper. Links to various indexes, lists, or other finding aids are also provided.

TRAIL: Technical Report Archive & Image Library This link opens in a new window
Provides unrestricted access to digitized U.S. federal technical reports, primarily prior to 1976 but also later.

WolrdWideScience.org
"A global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals." Can search
multiple scientific sources around the world with a single query in one of ten supported languages.

DTIC (Defense Technical Informaiton Center) Publicly Available Collections
Technical reports found on DTIC's public website (through DoD S&T Reports) will only include reports designated as unclassified and unlimited information. Other collections are also available.

EPA Science Inventory This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ongoing and completed science activities and scientific and technical products, conducted by EPA and by universities and other research institutions through EPA-funded assistance agreements.
For a broader search on EPA documents, please see the National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP).
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to NASA metadata records, full-text online documents, images, and videos.

National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)
Offers searching and browsing options. Includes wide variety of free EPA print and digital documents, including everything from pamphlets to research reports. Coverage from pre-1976 to present.

OSTI.gov (Office of Scientific and Technical Information) This link opens in a new window
The U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information's primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information. It consolidates OSTIs home page and our now retired primary search tool SciTech Connect. Dates of coverage: 1940s-current

USACE (US Army Corps of Engineers) Digital Library
Includes technical reports by the Waterways Experiment Station (WES), Engineering Research and Development Centers, and USACE districts; also Fish & Wildlife technical reports and annual fish counts from the WES and districts.

TRID (Transportation Research International Documentation) This link opens in a new window
Transportation research database, covering the research literature on all transport modes, with aspects including planning, finance, design/construction, materials, environmental issues, safety, human factors, operations. Not included: vehicle standards/specs, patents, military transport. TRID is the merger of the former TRIS database from TRB plus the International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database (from OECD partner countries).

USGS Publications Warehouse
Publications written by United States Geological Survey scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau. For a broader look at USGS water information, see also: https://www.usgs.gov/science/science-explorer/Water