Unity Day & Cultural Humility Resources

From the racial defamation and mocking tone of "Mexican" restaurants geared toward the Anglo customer to the high-end Latin-inspired eateries with Anglo chefs who give the impression that the food was something unattended or poorly handled that they "discovered" or "rescued" from actual Latinos, the dilemma of how to make ethical choices in food production and consumption is always as close as the kitchen recipe, coffee pot, or table grape. In Food Fight! author Paloma Martinez-Cruz takes us on a Chicanx gastronomic journey that is powerful and humorous. Martinez-Cruz tackles head on the real-world politics of food production from the exploitation of farmworkers to the appropriation of Latinx bodies and culture, and takes us right into transformative eateries that offer a homegrown, mestiza consciousness. The hard-hitting essays in Food Fight! bring a mestiza critique to today's pressing discussions of labeling, identity, and imaging in marketing and dining. Not just about food, restaurants, and coffee, this volume employs a decolonial approach and engaging voice to interrogate ways that mestizo, Indigenous, and Latinx peoples are objectified in mainstream ideology and imaginary.

Suitable for training activities related to employee empowerment, this title includes 50 training activities and self-development exercises to prepare your personnel for international assignments and develop better understanding of cross-cultural communication. It is also suitable for preparing foreign nationals to work in the United States.

It is critical for professors to be able to teach students from a diversity of backgrounds and experiences to achieve success. This book provides an essential insight into teaching cultural competence in colleges and universities across the United States. Covering the experiences and challenges of instructors across disciplines, the chapters focus on the research, practices, narratives, and reflections related to preparing students to be culturally competent. Intended to address how to challenge systems that give power to only majority or privileged cultures, the purpose of this edited collection is to provide a vital resource through which readers can be equipped with the necessary knowledge related to teaching cultural competence. It provides a reference for instructors, researchers, and other stakeholders who are looking for material and strategies that will assist them in preparing students to become culturally competent.

In this #1 New York Times bestseller, Ijeoma Oluo offers a revelatory examination of race in America Protests against racial injustice and white supremacy have galvanized millions around the world. The stakes for transformative conversations about race could not be higher. Still, the task ahead seems daunting, and it's hard to know where to start. How do you tell your boss her jokes are racist? Why did your sister-in-law hang up on you when you had questions about police reform? How do you explain white privilege to your white, privileged friend? In So You Want to Talk About Race, Ijeoma Oluo guides readers of all races through subjects ranging from police brutality and cultural appropriation to the model minority myth in an attempt to make the seemingly impossible possible: honest conversations about race, and about how racism infects every aspect of American life. "Simply put: Ijeoma Oluo is a necessary voice and intellectual for these times, and any time, truth be told." ―Phoebe Robinson, New York Times bestselling author of You Can't Touch My Hair

This book was a really informative and insightful collection of essays over cultural appropriation in our society today, mostly focusing on America's appropriation and use of Native American culture specifically more or less. The topics in this book covers a lot of ground from arts, land, and artifacts to ideas, knowledge, and symbols. The book doesn't try and point fingers blaming anyone rather then stating facts of the matter over the gray area of cultural appropriation. Overall a really nice read.

The Ethics of Cultural Appropriation undertakes a comprehensive and systematic investigation of the moral and aesthetic questions that arise from the practice of cultural appropriation. Explores cultural appropriation in a wide variety of contexts, among them the arts and archaeology, museums, and religion Questions whether cultural appropriation is always morally objectionable Includes research that is equally informed by empirical knowledge and general normative theory Provides a coherent and authoritative perspective gained by the collaboration of philosophers and specialists in the field who all participated in this unique research project

This book describes how therapists can combine multicultural theory with their own lived experience to meaningfully engage clients in issues of culture. Many mental health practitioners (MHPs) today recognize and affirm the importance of cultural background -- race, ethnicity, gender, sexuality -- in their clients' lives. But many MHPs struggle to address cultural issues in practice, whether because of unfamiliarity, or fear of giving offense, or because the presence of cultural differences or similarities between client and therapist that can make it difficult to view the client objectively. The authors of this book recommend that MHPs focus not on what they have learned in previous clinical or educational settings, but on what they don't know about the client who sits across from them. They discuss practical strategies for engaging with clients and their cultural identities, including repairing mistakes that threaten the therapeutic relationship. Through a wide range of case examples and hands-on exercises, the authors demonstrate how therapists can learn to acknowledge their limitations, and view them as opportunities to connect with clients at a deeper level.

"Developing Critical Cultural Competence provides educators with the inspiration, knowledge, and tools to move from theory to action in seeking to eliminate the achievement gap."-Bess Scott, Director of Elementary EducationLincoln Public Schools, NE"As I read this book, it became clear that my long-held belief about the meaning of cultural competence needed a makeover. I am now convinced that my personal definition of diversity should embrace a much deeper appreciation of differences and transformative action."-Denise Carlson, Curriculum ConsultantHeartland Area Education Agency, Johnston, IACultural competence is key to improved student achievementThe increasingly diverse nature of today's schools and the need to increase the achievement of all students, no matter their background, requires 21st-century teachers to develop critical cultural competence. Looking at data is not enough. We have to know who our students are! This book shows you how to provide professional development that deepens teachers' cultural understanding. Developing Critical Cultural Competence helps educators translate new knowledge into action with activities that focus on the three inseparable insights required for developing teachers' critical cultural competency: Understanding themselvesUnderstanding their studentsUnderstanding their students' families and communitiesIn addition to the activities are reflection questions, group discussion questions, online extensions for facilitators, and a sample professional development plan. A companion website provides reproducible resource lists and handouts as well as examples that can serve as models for some of the activities.

Intercultural communication competence is an indispensable ability for people to interact appropriately and effectively across nations and regions in the globalized world. Competent intercultural communication enables people to reach mutual understanding as well as reciprocal relationships. In recent decades, considerable progress has been made in the research of intercultural communication competence. However, due to its complexity, many problems remain unanswered and need to be addressed. ...

Cultural Competence in Health Education and Health Promotion, 2nd edition, examines the importance of ethnic and cultural factors for community health practice. Edited and written by a stellar list of contributors who are experts in field, this book describes essential theories, models, and practices for working with race, ethnicity, gender, and social issues. The authors cover a wide range of topics including demographics, disparities, complementary and alternative medicine, spiritually grounded approaches, multicultural populations, culturally competent needs assessment and planning, communication, workforce, program planning, aging, sexual orientation, and future challenges. This edition has substantially expanded coverage on working with diverse groups, social determinants of health, spirituality, theoretical models for multicultural populations, planning and program evaluation, and aging, with new content includes coverage of disability and health literacy. This edition also reflects the latest standards for Certified Health Education Specialist certification and national standards on Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS), from Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Minority Health

Functioning successfully within different cultures can be a struggle for many professionals and, as the world changes, it's become clear that dealing with other cultures, both domestic and international, requires competence in both identifying and transcending cultural boundaries. In this highly approachable volume, the authors provide a robust framework for addressing cultural conflicts within organizations not just for practitioners in the field of consulting and organizational psychology, but for a broad spectrum of professionals, executives, and community leaders. Drawing on case studies that illustrate commonly encountered cultural dilemmas in a variety of practice areas, the authors present applications, assessments, and intervention approaches that are prerequisites for gaining transcultural competence, whether as a consultant, organizational leader, or professional in any number of fields dealing with diversity and globalization. Four steps for identifying and managing cultural dilemmas are described: recognizing, respecting, reconciling, and realizing cultural differences. The authors ably expand on these concepts with real-world examples from their practice -- from corporate struggles with native pacific islanders to functioning within the complicated traditions of Native American reservations. The concept of ""cultural traps"" associated with often subtle ethnocentric assumptions, and how to avoid them, makes Transcultural Competence an invaluable resource. Using examples from history and from modern day dilemmas, the authors present clear rules for identifying these traps and instruct the reader on how best to seek exits and solutions in order to thrive in our current global era.

Cultural Competence in America's Schools: Leadership, Engagement and Understanding focuses on explicating the impact of culture and issues of race and ethnicity on student learning, teacher and leadership efficacy, and educational policy making in our nation's public school system. The authors agree with Levin (2012), who pointed out that the challenge of dealing effectively with racial and ethnic diversity in education in traditionally homogeneous societies is a global problem. One indicator of this point is revealed in a U.S. study that was commissioned by the National Comprehensive Center for Teacher Quality, which reported on the serious consequences for student achievement and teacher effectiveness in the face of "the gap between teacher training and the realities of the classroom when it comes to teaching diverse populations and students with special needs." (Public Agenda, 2008, p. 2).