Research Guides: Anthropology (UNH Durham): ANTH 750

Course readings

Islamic Masculinities, Ouzgane, Lanoucine (ed.) (O), 2006.
Everyday Life in the Muslim Middle East, Bowen, Donna Lee (ed.), 2014
Print edition on reserve at the library [during semester course is running]
Abu-Lughod, Lila 2002. “Do Muslim Women Really Need Saving? Anthropological Reflections on Cultural Relativism and Its Others.” American Anthropologist 104 (3):783-790
Badran, Margot 2002. “Islamic Feminism: What’s in the name?” Al-Ahram Weekly Online, 17 - 23 January 2002 Issue No.569
Badran, Margot 2006 "Islamic Feminism Revisted" Counter Currents, 10 February, 2006
Boellstorff, Tom 2005. “Between Religion and Desire: Being Muslim and Gay in Indonesia.” American Anthropologist. 107(4):575-585
Boose, L. E. 2002. “Crossing the River Drina: Bosnian Rape Camps, Turkish Impalement, and Serb Cultural Memory.” Signs. 28(1): 71-96
Charsley, Katherine 2005. “Unhappy Husbands: Masculinity and Migration in Transnational Pakistani Marriages.” Journal of Royal Anthropological Institute. 11, 85-105
Enloe, Cynthia 2000. “Masculinity as Foreign Policy Issue.” In Focus. Foreign Policy online.
Esack, Farid 2001. “Islam and Gender Justice: Beyond Simplistic Apologia.” In What Men Owe to Women: Men’s Voices from World Religions. Edited by J.C. Rainers and D. C. Maguire. State University of New York Press. Pp. 187-109
Massad, Joseph 2002 “Re-Orienting Desire: The Gay International and the Arab World.” Public Culture 14(2):361-385
Mir-Hosseini, Ziba 1999. Islam and Gender: The Religious Debate in Contemporary Iran. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press

Selected Online Reference Resources

Encyclopaedia of Islam (3rd ed.) This link opens in a new window
Includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century
Encyclopaedia of Islam (2nd ed.) This link opens in a new window
Still being updated
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society This link opens in a new window
Provide users with a "gender lens" on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.
Multimedia Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World This link opens in a new window
Looks at women today and delves into contexts of being female in the 21st century. The scope of the encyclopedia focuses on women's status starting approximately in the year 2000 and looks forward. From A-to-Z, this work covers the spectrum of defining women in the contemporary world. Published 2011

Additional Databases to Consider

For even more options, check out the complete database list.

Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
An international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. It covers their history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. It includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims writing in European languages.
Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. Listing a wide variety of periodical literature, including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions. Provides English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Dates of coverage: 1450-current
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life with Full Text as well as full text for the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines regional newspapers, as well as monographs and books. It includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.