Research Guides: Anthropology (UNH Durham): Citing & Writing

Citation Help

As of September 2015, AAA (American Anthropological Association) style (for all publications) follows the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed.:

AAA Publishing Style Guide
Selected guidelines for in-text citations and reference list along with examples for typically types of sources.

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Includes fully-searchable text with added features such as tools for editors, a quick citation guide, and searchable access to the Chicago Style Q&A, wherein University of Chicago Press manuscript editors answer readers' editorial style questions. Coverage is for 16th-17th editions

Purdue OWL - Chicago Style Formattng
Conners Writing Center - Chicago Style author-date
Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, manage, and share research. Requires software download and online account.
ZoteroBib
ZoteroBib helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software.
Library Tutorials: Zotero Series
Very brief tutorials on Zotero basics
Zotero (UNH Durham)
This guide has more details on getting and using Zotero.

Useful sites that describe how to conduct a literature review.

The Literature Review: A Few Tips On Conducting It
From the University of Toronto, this also briefly discusses annotated bibliographies.
Write a Literature Review
From the University of California, Santa Cruz

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
A useful guide from the Olin & Uris Libraries at Cornell Univ.
The OWL at Purdue: Annotated Bibliographies
Examples and samples are included.
Annotated Bibliographies
A detailed handout from The Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill