Research Guides: Biological Sciences: Explore a Topic

Library Search Box

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes a science dictionary, an "In the News" section, and several features for undergraduate students: basic tables, study guides, and brief scientific biographies. Mac Users: Use Safari with this database. There have been access problems with Internet Explorer.
Journal of Visualized Experiments: JoVE This link opens in a new window
Provides science videos with the mission to improve scientific research and education. Millions of scientists, educators and students at thousands of universities, colleges, hospitals and biopharmaceutical companies worldwide use JoVE for their research, teaching and learning.

National Institutes of Health
Web site describing the activities of the NIH, including links to clinical trials supported by the NIH.
National Science Foundation
Plants Database
Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.

Public Library of Science (PLoS) This link opens in a new window
Publishes peer-reviewed open-access journals in scientific and medical literature.
Science.gov This link opens in a new window
Gateway to information resources at government science agencies including science web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.