A public domain image is defined as a photograph, clip art or vector whose copyright has expired or has never been under copyright. However, you can not assume that images found openly on the web are in the public domain. Rather, a bot of research will be needed before your can legally use an image in your class. There are several actions you can take:
AUDIO
Creative Commons Search This is not a search engine, but rather offers convenient access to search services provided by other independent sites. Includes several sites that provide images, audio, and video.
Digital Media Bank The Digital Media Bank Provides links to resources, including images, sound, and video, for the purpose of enriching online curriculum. From California State University - Chico.
CCMixter This is a community music remixing site featuring remixes and samples licensed under Creative Commons licenses.
Library of Congress Audio Recordings Search Listen to music, interviews, field recordings, and more from the Library's historic sound recording collections.
Free Music Archive The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads directed by WFMU, the most renowned freeform radio station in America. There is a FAQs page for Educators.
TED Talks TED Videos are not officially licensed with any kind of open licensing. However, TED allows the users to freely view and download the videos without restraint. The website is provided as a public service to promote the spread of good ideas.
TED Ed TED-Ed is TED’s youth and education initiative. TED-Ed Originals are short, award-winning animated videos about ideas that spark the curiosity of learners everywhere.
Khan Academy Khan Academy provides top-quality educational videos that are organized by discipline and skill levels. They provide videos from various disciplines including Math, Science, Economics, Finance, and Humanities.
YouTube YouTube provides millions of Creative Commons-licensed videos (among their billions of video collections). The key is filtering them to isolate the Creative Commons-licensed ones.
Vimeo Like YouTube, Vimeo hosts millions of Creative Commons-licensed videos. In addition, Vimeo provides a separate Creative Commons licensed video collection which makes the filtering process much easier.
iTunes U - The Open university iTunes U is a vast learning resource offering free educational content that users can download from Apple's iTunes Store straight to their computer or mobile devices. The Open University joined iTunes U in 2008, making available a range of high quality audio-visual assets used in their courses.
Dance Online: Dance in Video Five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Digital Theatre Plus Streaming video of full plays, musicals, and operas from contemporary British companies, plus educational materials about the plays and their creative and technical production.
Drama Online Along with playscripts and ebooks, Drama Online now includes video and audio from Globe on Screen and L.A. Theatre Works.
Electronic Arts Intermix Educational Streaming More than 500 full-length videos from EAI's extensive catalog of video, media, and performance art from the 1960s to the present.
How to Find CC Licensed Video
Medici.tv Over 1600 videos of opera, ballet, and classical music concerts, along with documentaries and artist profiles. Search and browse by artist, composer, director, etc.
Met Opera on Demand More than 450 recordings of Metropolitan Opera productions, in streaming HD, video, or audio, dating from the 1930s to the present.
Music and Dance Online Searches across the following Alexander Street Press databases (some are individually linked above):
Naxos Video Library Over 1580 full-length videos of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Search and browse genres, composers, labels, artists, and production personnel.
OntheBoards.tv Streaming HD video of contemporary dance, theater, and music performances from Seattle-based company On the Boards.
Opera in Video (Alexander Street Press) Five hundred hours of streaming video of the most important opera performances: staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
Theatre Online: Theatre in Video More than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, totaling more than 500 hours of streaming video representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
For GSC faculty using media in their online class, the following guidelines are suggested:
List the Resource and include the attribution statement
Mention the credits within the media itself. For example, crediting videos can be a simple list of the materials used with their associated licenses in a screen at the end of a video. For audio, it can be a verbal recitation of credits at the end of the recording.
