Research Guides: Hispanic and Spanish Studies: Find Articles

Recommended Key Databases

Search these indexes for journal, magazine or newspapers articles, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) Online
Source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Dates of coverage: 1970-current

MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
The primary database for literature, MLA contains bibliographic records of scholarly research from more than 4,400 journals, books and book chapters, proceedings, and other formats. Covers research in literature, literary theory and criticism, language, dramatic arts, linguistics, and folklore.

JSTOR
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. Funded in part by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School. Coverage is not designed for current material, thus it does not cover information from the most recent 2 to 5 years.
Project MUSE
Promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide.
Literature Criticism Online
A range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Online version of Gale’s Literature Criticism series, including: Contemporary Literary Criticism; Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800; Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism; Twentieth-Century Literature Criticism; Poetry Criticism; Short Story Criticism; and Shakespearean Criticism.

Additional Databases to Consider

Depending on your specific topic, population of interest, approach, etc., consider some of the following specialized databases. For more online resources, check the complete Database List and Web Resources page in this guide.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Dates of coverage: 1450-current
Humanities Index Retrospective
Provides citations to articles covering a wide-range of humanities and interdisciplinary fields. The sources include core, scholarly English-language periodicals as well as a number of lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Dates of coverage: 1907-1984
Art Index
Index of articles from art periodicals published throughout the world. Source documents also include yearbooks, museum bulletins and reproductions of art works. Dates of coverage: 1984-current
Art Index Retrospective
Index covering art journalism from masny notable publications. Coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins as well as publications in French, Italian, German, and Dutch. Dates of coverage: 1929-1984
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
RILM (Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale) is a continuously updated bibliography of music literature. Dates of coverage: Early 19th centure-current

Nexis Uni
Formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic. Full-text database of news, business, legal and government information. News resources include international and national newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and broadcast media transcripts.

Boolean Searching

Build more effective searches by learning about "Boolean operators" when connecting your search terms.

Searching Tips

This 2-page handout describes some search techniques and how to connect to full text articles after doing a database search.

Tips for Successful Online Searching

For More Help

Ask a Librarian

Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian