Hispanic and Spanish Studies

This book offers a comprehensive account of modern Spanish culture, tracing its dramatic and often unexpected development from its beginnings after the Revolution of 1868 to the present day.

This biographical reference source fills a distinct gap in multicultural collections by offering profiles of approximately 470 noteworthy Hispanic men and women from the 15th century to the present.

Some 750 alphabetically-arranged entries provide insights into recent cultural and political developments within Spain, including the cultures of Catalonia, Galicia and the Basque country. Coverage spans from the end of the Civil War in 1939 to the present day, with emphasis on the changes following the demise of the Franco dictatorship in 1975. Entries range from shorter, factual articles to longer overview essays offering in-depth treatment of major issues.

Unparalleled in its sweep, the Encyclopedia covers a region and a time span never before attempted in English. Its 5,300 entries over four volumes, organised in A-Z dictionary format, treat the entire territory of Spanish and Portuguese conquest and exploration in the New World from the windswept plains of Patagonia to the Alaskan harbour of Valdez to the island nations of the Caribbean.

A landmark scholarly work, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the nation. With an unprecedented scope and cutting-edge scholarship, the Encyclopedia draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.

This glossary offers an introduction to Spanish culture and society, and a route-map to further study. Designed specifically with undergraduates in mind, it contains around 400 short and accessible explanations of the key words, events, figures and concepts in Spain since 1939. From "Almodovar" and "Basque" to "Xunta de Galicia" and "zarzuela," Spanish Culture and Society gives an interdisciplinary overview of Spanish culture and society, and offers directions for further reading. Covering politics, popular culture, private life, cultural institutions and significant events, the entries are fully cross-referenced and assume no prior knowledge, making this an essential reference for students of Spanish culture in the Humanities and Social Sciences.