Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Key Databases
Search these indexes for journal, magazine or newspapers articles, reviews, etc.
Oxford Music Online
Access and cross-search multiple music reference resources. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music, which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, which supplements Grove's more-extensive articles.
Indexes a wide range of music periodicals for topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
A bibliography of music literature that includes records in over 100 languages from 3,700 journals. Publication date coverage: 1969 to present.
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic journals and popular magazines from all disciplines.
An archival collection of full text, full-run academic journals. Coverage runs from the first issue of a journal, to 2-5 years prior to the current year. Indexes 64 music titles including Early Music and 19th-Century Music.
Additional Databases to Consider
Depending on your specific topic, population of interest, approach, etc., consider one of the following specialized databases. For more online resources, check out the complete Database List.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Index to sources on world history from 1450 to the present from over 2,500 journals in over 40 languages. Includes book and media reviews.
Full text of hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Ability to search for thousands of peer-reviewed digital books from over 65 major university presses and scholarly publishers (full text for most books isn’t available in our subscription).