Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Music Online
Search Oxford Music Online for basic facts and background information on the history of music. Includes the Grove Dictionary of Music whose entries include complete works lists for composers, and definitive bibliographies. While the emphasis is on Western classical music, American music and jazz are also very well covered.
Selected Online Reference Sources
American Folk Songs: A Regional Encyclopedia
This state-by-state collection of folk songs describes the history, society, culture, and events characteristic of all fifty states.It focuses on songs concerning the life and times of the people of each state. The topics range from the major historical events, such as the Boston Tea Party, the attack on Fort Sumter, and the California Gold Rush, to regionally important events such as disasters and murders, labor problems, occupational songs, ethnic conflicts.
Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
Biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers from all time periods.
Harvard Dictionary of Music
Comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments with historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock.
Oxford History of Western Music Online
Provides an account of the evolution of Western classical music by musicologist Richard Taruskin, combining an emphasis on structure and form with discussion of relevant theoretical concepts in each age, as well as describing how the context of each stylistic period influenced and directed compositional practices.
This successor to the Virginia Tech Multimedia Music Dictionary Provides definitions or brief descriptions of many terms as well as pronunciations. Unrestricted access except for the Musical Examples, which require a CD-Rom set not owned by the UNH Library.
Selected Print Reference Sources
These are located on Dimond Main Level and represent just a sampling. For more reference resources, search the library catalog or contact the Research Center.
Good places to gather background information on a topic or get ideas when choosing a topic.
- specific factual information such as dates
- overviews or summaries of topics
- recommendations for additional sources
Types of reference sources
- specialized encyclopedias
- statistical compilations