Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Print Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Early Cinema by
Publication Date: 2005-01-12
In this major A-Z work, 'early cinema' refers to the first 20 or 25 years of the cinema's emergence at the end of the nineteenth and beginning of the twentieth centuries, from the early 1890s to the middle 1910s.
The Encyclopedia of American Independent Filmmaking by
Publication Date: 2002-12-30
Independent filmmaking is often regarded as a relatively recent phenomenon, yet the so-called movement has actually existed as long as movies themselves. In this indispensable single-volume reference work, LoBrutto surveys the subject from cinema's inception through the 21st century.
The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film by
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
For as long as there have been movies, filmmakers have labored to translate novelists' words into flickering images. From silent epics such as Birth of a Nation to contemporary blockbusters like Jurassic Park, directors have looked to literature for their inspiration. Now, The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film provides the first comprehensive look between the pages and behind the scenes of this long-standing cinematic tradition.
Video Versions by
Publication Date: 2000-03-30
"Video Versions" identifies nearly 300 films and their theatrical origins, providing readers with an overview of the films and highlighting similarities and differences to the source plays.
Selected Online Reference Sources
The following reference resources provide you with background and context on a topic and are good springboards to further research materials.
American National Biography
The American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
Americans at War
This unique, four-volume set explains to students how mobilization for war and how wars themselves have altered the fabric of everyday life.
Biography in Context
Can be used to find past and present noteworthy figures for personal or general interest, or as a biographical starting point for in-depth research on a particular event, country or era.
Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
An illustrated collection of more than 58,000 biographies of the men and women who died before the year 2009 and who shaped all aspects of Britain's past – plus over 500 Theme articles on important groups and topical anniversaries.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how those debates might evolve.
World News Digest (Facts on File)
Archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly, covering all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940.
History of the American Cinema Vol.1-10
This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the development of film and the film industry, analyzing both the genres, themes and technology that defined each decade and the political and economic background that gave rise to them.
Theatre in Video
Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with online streaming video of more than 100 film documentaries, more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.