Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This 2-page handout describes some search techniques and how to connect to full text articles after doing a database search.
Build more effective searches by learning about "Boolean operators" when connecting your search terms.
American Journal of Occupational Therapy
Recommended Key Databases
Search these indexes for journal, magazine or newspapers articles, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Complete
The definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with full text for more than 770 journals and indexing for more than 5000 journals. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
A leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health and medicine. A global and independent network of researchers, health professionals, and patients utilize rigorous methodologies to produce high quality, relevant, and up-to-date synthesized research evidence, protocols, editorials, and supplements.
Journal citations and abstracts for medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system. Publication date coverage: 1966 to present.
Provides access to articles in medical research journals and citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books; subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care.
An evidence-based knowledge system with content written and edited by a global community of physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. Includes more than 9,500 clinical topics across 20 specialties, including more than 8,500 graded treatment recommendations. Authors follow a rigorous editorial process, continually reviewing the content to ensure it is of the highest quality and based on the latest evidence. Also includes medical calculators and a drug and drug interaction database.
Additional Databases to Consider
Depending on your specific topic, population of interest, approach, etc., consider one of the following specialized databases. For more online resources, check out the complete Database List.
Keep up to date on recent COVID-19 related publications.
Academic Search Ultimate
Offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Identify articles on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
Database of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Use to identify journal articles, book chapters, and books in psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Offers journal articles and book chapters in the disciplines of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences: journal articles, books, book chapters, etc.
Web of Science
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.
Click on the Check for Full Text icon in the database record to see how to get a copy of the article: whether online, in print or from another library.
This 2-minute video provides a brief demonstration.
If the UNH Library doesn't have the article you want, request it through Interlibrary Loan.
- the database record for the article, which sometimes indicates whether a journal is peer reviewed
- the journal website, esp. under About Us or Information for Authors
- Ulrichsweb, a database of information about journals, and look for the Refereed symbol next to the journal title