Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Key Databases
Search these indexes for journal, magazine or newspapers articles, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Offers indexing and abstracts for over 400 journals, including full text for nearly 200 journals
Covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Publication coverage varies by journal title.
Database of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Use to identify journal articles, book chapters, and books in psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Social Work Abstracts
Contains indexing and abstracts from more than 850 social work and human services journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences: journal articles, books, book chapters, etc.
Quantitative vs. Qualitative Research
Journal of Autoethnography
Additional Databases to Consider
Depending on your specific topic, population of interest, approach, etc., consider one of the following specialized databases. For more online resources, check out the complete Database List.
Academic Search Ultimate
Offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Complete
Covers over 1,700 professional journals in nursing and allied health disciplines.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Indexes over 400 journals from all areas of criminology and criminal justice and from around the world.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
The premier database for education, providing access to more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text ERIC documents dating back to 1966.
Family Studies Abstracts
Indexes articles on marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas from the most important journals in the discipline.
Index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Has indexing,abstracts, and selected full text for more than 140 LGBT-specific core periodicals and over 290 LGBT-specific core books and reference works.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
Indexes the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Publication date coverage: 1972 to present
Violence & Abuse Abstracts
Indexes books and journals covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, and emotional abuse.
Web of Science
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.