Research Guides: PHP 900- Public Health Care Systems (UNH Manchester): Databases

Recommended Article Databases

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Complete
The definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with full text for more than 770 journals and indexing for more than 5000 journals. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
This multidisciplinary database, provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with particular emphasis on nursing and allied health and indexing for more than 820 journals.
Nexis Uni
Formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic. News, legal, and company database.
MEDLINE
The major research tool for medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Policy Archive
This database is a comprehensive digital library of public policy research containing
over 30,000 documents.

Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Dates of coverage: 1890-1982
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Offers journal articles and book chapters in the disciplines of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Toxicology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database is the only comprehensive resource for professionals in this field and is specifically focused to meet the needs of toxicologists. The database covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues.

Web of Science
Search "all databases" to provide the broadest search in this science/social science/art & humanities database.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos touching on all disciplines.

Research Tip: Besides the recommended eBook database, do an initial keyword search in our library catalog and then limit it to "ebooks."

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An online book collection that spans all academic subject areas. It includes books, reports, and other authoritative content from leading publishers.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Search and view the full text of eBooks covering a wide range of topics.
Safari Tech Books Online This link opens in a new window
See O'Reilly.

CSUDH Library (2019, October 8). All about peer review [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YH5OgdSW5dU.

USU Libraries. (2018, January 10). Empirical studies: Qualitative vs. quantitative [Video file]. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZcfmA1l6cE