Research Guides: Classics, Humanities, and Italian Studies (UNH Durham): Find Articles

Initial Search Options

Library Search Box
Google Scholar

Start here!

The UNH Library search box provides one-stop searching for books and e-books; articles in newspapers, journals, and magazines; and streaming video and audio - it searches multiple databases at once.

To get relevant results, click on Advanced Search and use the Ways to Search with Keywords, Limiting Your Search Results, and Search Tips & Tricks below to research like a pro!

If you're not sure which search terms to use, try Google Scholar to start - its natural language searching may bring back articles using terms you never thought of!

Google Scholar

Google Scholar (GS) is useful for specific kinds of searching

When you don't know the right terms to search, GS uses natural language searching which can help you fish around for useful search terms.
When you find one great article, you can use GS - type in the article title, then in the listing click "cited by" to see who has cited that article in their more recent one.
When you want to look for unpublished articles or other grey literature.

Please note: you can search it like and advanced search in a database, using AND, OR, or NOT to search.

Use GS settings to choose UNH Library!

That will show you what you have access to via UNH Library in the right column.

Recommended Key Databases

JSTOR
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. Funded in part by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School. Coverage is not designed for current material, thus it does not cover information from the most recent 2 to 5 years.
L'Annee Philologique
Bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Covers a wide array of subjects, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology, and epigraphy.
MLA International Bibliography
Contains bibliographic records of scholarly research from journals, books and book chapters, proceedings, and other formats. Covers research in literature, literary theory and criticism, language, dramatic arts, linguistics, mythology, classics texts, and folklore.
Perseus Digital Library
The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources covering the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
Project MUSE
Promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide.

Additional Databases to Consider

Depending on your specific topic, population of interest, approach, etc., consider whether any of the following specialized databases may be helpful:

Art Index
Index of articles from art periodicals published throughout the world. Source documents also include yearbooks, museum bulletins and reproductions of art works. Dates of coverage: 1984-current
Art Index Retrospective
Index covering art journalism from many notable publications. Coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins as well as publications in French, Italian, German, and Dutch. Dates of coverage: 1929-1984
Humanities Index Retrospective
Provides citations to articles covering a wide-range of humanities and interdisciplinary fields. The sources include core, scholarly English-language periodicals as well as a number of lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Dates of coverage: 1907-1984
Humanities International Complete
Includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases.

What is an Academic Journal?

What is a Peer-reviewed Journal Article?

Journals containing academic articles, often reporting results of research studies.

Each journal is normally on one subject such as: history, literature, sociology, etc.

Authors are usually professors, scholars or similar experts.

Some academic journals are also peer reviewed.

Boolean Searching Video (3:03)

Build more effective searches by learning about "Boolean operators" when connecting your search terms.