Research Guides: Communication (UNH Durham): Articles

List of Communications Databases at UNH

Communication Databases
Specialized databases for this discipline

Suggested Databases to Start With

A key database to get results from recognized, reputable academic sources in the field of communication include:

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Provides access to comprehensive communication research. It was developed from a merger of Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by SAGE), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. It offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.

Additional Databases to Consider

Depending on your specific topic, one of these specialized databases may be helpful, especially if you're doing interdisciplinary research.

PsycINFO (EBSCOhost APA) This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Dates of coverage: 1952-current
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center : EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The premier database for education, providing access to more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text ERIC documents dating back to 1966.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Dates of coverage: 1973-current
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic records of scholarly research from journals, books and book chapters, proceedings, and other formats. Covers research in literature, literary theory and criticism, language, dramatic arts, linguistics, and folklore.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index to sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations as well as journal article citations. Dates of coverage: 1955-current

View the Databases pages for a more complete list of databases and online resources

The UNH Library search box provides one-stop searching for books and e-books; articles in newspapers, journals, and magazines; and video and audio

This can be useful if you want

multidisciplinary coverage specifically
initial exploration
additional resources by being comprehensive for articles outside of your primary discipline

You can limit results to peer reviewed journals and by publication date, An advanced search with additional options is available:

Keyword searching across citations, abstracts and full text of articles (even if the full text isn't available to you).

Advantages:

identify relevant articles, especially if your search is pretty specific.
useful for exploratory purposes or when you're "covering all the bases"

Disadvantages:

hard to organize or sort in useful ways
unable to search by subject or limit by anything other than time

Enhance efficiency by adjusting these Google Scholar settings so that

Library Links shows library access links to UNH (so you have quicker access to full text that UNH is subscribing to)

Connect to

Google Scholar

Communication (UNH Durham)

Getting Articles

Tutorials on How to Interlibrary Loan

Tutorials on Finding Full Text

List of Communications Databases at UNH

Suggested Databases to Start With

Additional Databases to Consider

Initial Search Options