Research Guides: Environmental Policy, Planning, and Sustainability Lab: Databases

Environmental Databases

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers deep coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Dates of coverage: 1888-current
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management This link opens in a new window
See Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 2: Ocean Technology, Policy, & Non-Living Resources This link opens in a new window
This subset of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts database concentrates on non-biologic scientific topics, such as physical oceanography and limnology, marine meteorology and climatology, geochemistry, marine geology and geophysics. In addition, it covers various types of marine technology used in both research and commerce. Finally, it deals with marine law and policy and with economics and commerce.
Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) This link opens in a new window
Provides specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical for scientists researching the world's living aquatic resources. Marine, freshwater and brackish water regions and environments are examined, including biology and ecology of aquatic organisms and legal, policy, and socioeconomic issues. Dates of coverage: 1971-current
Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality This link opens in a new window
Provides access to abstracts covering research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers and estuaries.
Water Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
See Agricultural & Environmental Science Database and enter "Water Resources" in Subject Heading to search
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles which cover wildlife and wildlife management; uses scientific names of reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals and is the best source for governmental publications, especially state publications, concerning wildlife issues. Dates of coverage: 1935 and earlier-current
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in biological and biomedical research journals, covering many sources; long abstracts and indexing of scientific names and systematic categories are important features. Dates of coverage: 1985-current

Other Relevant Databases

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index This link opens in a new window
Covers all subjects that bear on public affairs and public policy, including the policy-oriented literature of academic social sciences such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations. Indexes publications from and about all countries, PAIS Archive coverage: 1915-1976; PAIS International coverage: 1972-current
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration. Dates of coverage: 1975-current
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Coverage of major economics and finance journals, including the American Economic Association journals, as well as essays, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Dates of coverage: 1952-current
PolicyArchive This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research, with summaries and full texts, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia material of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research.

Additional Databases to Consider

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and considered the database of record for graduate research. Note: Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability. Dates of coverage: 1861-current
Dissertations & Theses @ UNH This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses graduate students have published through ProQuest Dissertation Publishing. In addition to citations and abstracts, the service provides free access to 24 page previews and the full text in PDF format, when available. In most cases, this will be graduate works published in 1997 forward.

Keyword searching across citations, abstracts and full text of articles (even if the full text isn't available to you).

Advantages:

identify relevant articles, especially if your search is pretty specific.
useful for exploratory purposes or when you're "covering all the bases"

Disadvantages:

hard to organize or sort in useful ways
unable to search by subject or limit by anything other than time

Enhance efficiency by adjusting these Google Scholar settings so that

Library Links shows library access links to UNH (so you have quicker access to full text that UNH is subscribing to)
Bibliography Manager shows links to import citations into Zotero (if you're using Zotero)

Connect to

Google Scholar

The Articles tab on the library homepage is a discovery service that allows you to search approximately 60 UNH databases and some open access (freely available) resources at one time.

This can be useful if you want

multidisciplinary coverage specifically
initial exploration
additional resource by being comprehensive for articles outside of your primary discipline

You can limit results to peer reviewed articles. An advanced search screen with additional options is available.

See Content Provider on left of results page to identify which databases are returning the most results. You may want to individually search those databases returning the most results so you can tke advantage of any special features or limiters or subject headings.