Research Guides: Environmental Policy, Planning, and Sustainability Lab: Statistics & Data

Statistical Sources

Statistical Abstract of the US This link opens in a new window
Is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the US. Dates of coverage: 2013-current
Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to statistical information from federal agencies, research organizations, international organizations, commercial publishers and associations. Provides abstracts of statistical publications and links to the full-text for selected publications.

American FactFinder
Source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data (US Census)
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics
A US government clearing house for data about STEM research and development, funding, education, and workforce.

Data Catalog at Data.gov
Portal to open data collected by U.S. Government agencies. Use the filter options at the left to help navigate. Includes metadata, how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage them.

Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Database of public opinion polls containing the full text of questions and responses, from surveys, conducted in the United States and other countries around the world. Dates of coverage: 1986-current
iPoll This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a collection of poll data; all US polling firms, broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more.

Pew Research Center Survey Reports
Studies attitudes toward the press, politics and public policy issues. Reports back to late 1980s are available.