Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For More Help
Research Center Phone: 603-862-1544
Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian.
This 2-page handout describes some search techniques and how to connect to full text articles after doing a database search.
Build more effective searches by learning about "Boolean operators" when connecting your search terms.
Recommended Key Databases
Search these indexes for journal, magazine or newspapers articles, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
The primary database for literature, MLA contains bibliographic records of scholarly research from more than 4,400 journals, books and book chapters, proceedings, and other formats. Covers research in literature, literary theory and criticism, language, dramatic arts, linguistics, and folklore.
An archival collection of full text, full-run academic journals. Coverage runs from the first issue of a journal, to 2-5 years prior to the current year. Indexes over 140 Language & Literature titles including Yale French Studies and The French Review.
Full text of hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Ability to search for thousands of peer-reviewed digital books from over 65 major university presses and scholarly publishers (full text for most books isn’t available in our subscription).
Literature Criticism Online
Represents a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Additional Databases to Consider
Depending on your specific topic, population of interest, approach, etc., consider some of the following specialized databases. For more online resources, check the complete Database List and Web Resources page in this guide.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Index to sources on world history from 1450 to the present from over 2,500 journals in over 40 languages. Includes book and media reviews.
Humanities Index Retrospective
Covering a wide range of humanities and interdisciplinary fields. Sources include core, scholarly English-language periodicals as well as a number of lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Publication date coverage: 1907-1984.
Index of articles from art periodicals published throughout the world. Publication date coverage: 1984 to present.
Art Index Retrospective
A searchable index covering more than 55 years of art journalism from over 420 notable publications in English, French, Italian, German, and Dutch. Publication date coverage: 1929-1984.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
A bibliography of music literature that includes records in over 100 languages from 3,700 journals. Publication date coverage: 1969 to present.
Academic Search Ultimate
Combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos from almost every discipline.
Formerly Lexis-Nexis Academic. Full-text database of news, business, legal and government information. News resources include international and national newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and broadcast media transcripts.
Click on the Check for Full Text icon in the database record to see how to get a copy of the article: whether online, in print or from another library.
This 2-minute video provides a brief demonstration.
If the UNH Library doesn't have the article you want, request it through Interlibrary Loan.