Research Guides: Geography (UNH Durham): Articles

Suggested Databases to Start With

These databases serve as excellent starting points to get results from recognized, reputable academic sources:

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers deep coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Dates of coverage: 1888-current
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. Contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, theses and dissertations, conference papers, and reports, including all publications of the US Geological Survey. Dates of coverage: 1693-current

Additional Databases to Consider

Depending on your specific topic, one or more of these specialized databases may be helpful. For more online resources, check out the complete Database List.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations to material in the agricultural and environmental sciences; includes scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Includes AGRICOLA and TOXLINE. Dates of coverage: 1960-current
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
A current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Includes unique community publications as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life with Full Text as well as full text for the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines regional newspapers, as well as monographs and books. It includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index This link opens in a new window
Covers all subjects that bear on public affairs and public policy, including the policy-oriented literature of academic social sciences such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations. Indexes publications from and about all countries, PAIS Archive coverage: 1915-1976; PAIS International coverage: 1972-current
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.

The UNH Library search box provides one-stop searching for books and e-books; articles in newspapers, journals, and magazines; and video and audio

This can be useful if you want

multidisciplinary coverage specifically
initial exploration
additional resources by being comprehensive for articles outside of your primary discipline

You can limit results to peer reviewed journals and by publication date, An advanced search with additional options is available:

Keyword searching across citations, abstracts and full text of articles (even if the full text isn't available to you).

Advantages:

identify relevant articles, especially if your search is pretty specific.
useful for exploratory purposes or when you're "covering all the bases"

Disadvantages:

hard to organize or sort in useful ways
unable to search by subject or limit by anything other than time

Enhance efficiency by adjusting these Google Scholar settings so that

Library Links shows library access links to UNH (so you have quicker access to full text that UNH is subscribing to)

Connect to

Google Scholar

Geography (UNH Durham)

For More Help

Arts & Humanities Librarian/Associate Professor

Suggested Databases to Start With

Additional Databases to Consider

Initial Search Options