Research Guides: Geography (UNH Durham): Geography Databases

Suggested Databases to Start With

These databases serve as excellent starting points to get results from recognized, reputable academic sources:

Environment Complete
Offers deep coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Dates of coverage: 1888-current
GeoRef
Provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. Contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, theses and dissertations, conference papers, and reports, including all publications of the US Geological Survey. Dates of coverage: 1693-current

Additional Databases to Consider

Depending on your specific topic, one or more of these specialized databases may be helpful. For more online resources, check out the complete Database List.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
Provides abstracts and citations to material in the agricultural and environmental sciences; includes scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Includes AGRICOLA and TOXLINE. Dates of coverage: 1960-current
Ethnic NewsWatch
A current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Includes unique community publications as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies.
GreenFILE
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
LGBTQ+ Source
Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life with Full Text as well as full text for the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines regional newspapers, as well as monographs and books. It includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index
Covers all subjects that bear on public affairs and public policy, including the policy-oriented literature of academic social sciences such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations. Indexes publications from and about all countries, PAIS Archive coverage: 1915-1976; PAIS International coverage: 1972-current