Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English, Literature & Writing (UNH Durham)

This guide will help you locate resources for writing, and for the study of literature at UNH, including American literature, English literature, and Shakespeare.

List of UNH Literature Databases

Databases for Starting Out

Further Databases

These databases will be useful when searching interdisciplinary topics, such as cultural studies; gender studies; social history, etc., as well as for book reviews.

Find Reviews

Full-text Resources Online

The following sites are just a sample of the primary sources and literature available online. New websites appear frequently, and existing websites often add to or enrich their content.

American Memory Collection
Hosted by the Library of Congress, this is a rich array of historical collections from the National Digital Library. The Collection Finder lists collections by discipline.

California Digital Library
Provides links to the Online Archive of California, which facilitates and provides access to materials such as manuscripts, photographs, and works of art held in libraries, museums, archives, and other institutions across California, as well as other collections about the history of California.

Digital History
A collaborative project of the University of Houston, the Chicago Historical Society, the Museum of Fine Arts in Houston, and others, this multimedia site includes a textbook, lectures, primary sources, etc.

Documenting the American South (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill)
A collection of sources on the history, literature and culture of the American south from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.

LOUISiana Digital Library
Developed by the Louisiana Library Network, this sight brings together unique cultural and historical resources from Louisiana's libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions.

Making of America (MOA)
Primary resources for the study of the social history of the United States from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This is a collaborative project between University of Michigan and Cornell University.

New York Public Library Digital Library
Links to NYPL's growing digital collections, which currently include, among others, "African American Women Writers of the 19th Century;" "American Shores: Maps of the Middle Atlantic Region to 1850;" and other collections. Also includes photographic collections.