Research Guides: English, Literature & Writing (UNH Durham): Teaching Resources

Databases for Education/Teaching

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center : EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The premier database for education, providing access to more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text ERIC documents dating back to 1966.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Offers a collection of full-text education journals, encompassing an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks, and more. Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

Other Education Databases/Resources
UNH Library's list of Education e-resources.

Bookshelves of Doom
A blog about YA books and other stuff.
Lesson Plans and Resources for Young Adult Literature
Assembled by Edmund J. Sass at College of St. Benedict, St. John University.
The Literary Link: Young Adult Literature
This old-school website has a variety of assignments and lesson plans.
Outstanding Science Trade Books K-12
From the National Science Teachers Association
YALSA: Young Adult Library Services Association
Includes best books for young adults by year.
The Ya Ya Yas
A blog about all things YA.

Children's Literature Lesson Plans and Resources
Assembled by Edmund J. Sass at College of St. Benedict, St. John University.
Children's Literature Web Guide
By David K. Brown at University of Calgary
Database of Award Winning Children's Literature
EdSiteMent
Lesson plans and websites from the National Endowment for the Humanities in partnership with the National Trust for the Humanities and the MarcoPolo Education Foundation
International Children's Digital Library
ReadWriteThink
International Literacy Association of the National Council for Teachers of English

National Education Association
American Federation of Teachers
Represent the economic, social and professional interests of classroom teachers. It is an affiliated international union of the AFL-CIO.
National Association for Gifted Children
Uses its resources to train teachers, encourage parents and educate administrators and policymakers on how to develop and support gifted children.
National Association for the Education of Young Children
The world's largest organization working on behalf of young children, whose mission tis to improve the well-being of all young children, with particular focus on the quality of educational and developmental services for all children from birth through age 8.
National Council of Teachers of English
Devoted to improving the teaching and learning of English and the language arts at all levels of education.
Young Adult Library Services Association
YALSA's vision is that all teens, from a variety of backgrounds including, but not limited to ability, class, gender-identity, sexual orientation, race, religion and power-differentiated groups, will have access to quality library programs and services ‒ no matter where they occur ‒ that are tailored to the community and that create new opportunities for all teens’ to promote personal growth, academic success, and career development, while linking teens and staff to resources, connected learning opportunities, coaching, and mentoring.