Research Guides: Master in Public Policy Program (MPP): Articles

Academic Article Sources

Depending on your specific topic, one of these specialized databases may be helpful. For more online resources in areas such as the environment, education, and health, check out the complete Database List.

Most of these databases focus on academic articles, but some include other types of sources such as book chapters, government reports, and conference proceedings.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index This link opens in a new window
Covers all subjects that bear on public affairs and public policy, including the policy-oriented literature of academic social sciences such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations. Indexes publications from and about all countries, PAIS Archive coverage: 1915-1976; PAIS International coverage: 1972-current
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration. Dates of coverage: 1975-current
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, policy briefs and case studies by leading scholars.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers current news through a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs for all branches of the military and government.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
An open-source collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Coverage of major economics and finance journals, including the American Economic Association journals, as well as essays, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Dates of coverage: 1952-current
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index to sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations as well as journal article citations. Dates of coverage: 1955-current
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Facilitates research-level interdisciplinary search. Use the Basic Search to locate articles in high-impact scholarly journals in science, social science, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited Reference search for articles that cite an article you already know of, so you can track citations forward in time.

The UNH Library search box provides one-stop searching for books and e-books; articles in newspapers, journals, and magazines; and video and audio

This can be useful if you want

multidisciplinary coverage specifically
initial exploration
additional resources by being comprehensive for articles outside of your primary discipline

You can limit results to peer reviewed journals and by publication date, An advanced search with additional options is available:

Keyword searching across citations, abstracts and full text of articles (even if the full text isn't available to you).

Advantages:

identify relevant articles, especially if your search is pretty specific.
useful for exploratory purposes or when you're "covering all the bases"

Disadvantages:

hard to organize or sort in useful ways
unable to search by subject or limit by anything other than time

Enhance efficiency by adjusting these Google Scholar settings so that

Library Links shows library access links to UNH (so you have quicker access to full text that UNH is subscribing to)

Connect to

Google Scholar

Alerts & Current Awareness Services

Alerts and RSS feeds can help you stay current in your field or with a topic of interest with only a little time and effort on your part. These services are usually available from journal publishers and databases and help you monitor recent publications related to your research interests.

For more detail on various types of alerts provided by database and journal publishers, please view the guides below that were developed by librarians at other institutions. Where these guides discuss or link to specific databases or services, please use the UNH Databases listings to connect to the UNH subscription to reach the correct authentication path.

Database Alerts & RSS Feeds
From the University of Pittsburgh library system.
Alert Services: A How-To Guide
From the Iowa State University Library. Covers basic techniques for setting up different types of alerts including table of contents and saved searches via email, RSS feed, blogs, and Twitter.

Master in Public Policy Program (MPP)

For More Help

Reading a Social Science Article

Getting Articles from Other Libraries

Document Delivery

Academic Article Sources

Initial Search Options

Alerts & Current Awareness Services