Research Guides: Master in Public Policy Program (MPP): Data & Data Management

Selected Sources of Data

Selected sources of already collected data that may be re-used for other analyses:

Data.gov
Data.gov provides metadata (descriptions) for Federal datasets, information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. Federal and Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
This data archive acquires, processes, and provides access to social science data for research and instruction. ICPSR data cover many disciplines, including political science, sociology, history, economics, gerontology, demography, criminal justice, public health, education, law, and international relations.

Note: Users must register for an account. Current UNH students, faculty, and staff only are eligible for direct downloading of all datasets. Set up ICPSR MyData login account by clicking on the link in the upper left corner of the page.

OpenDOAR - Directory of Open Access Repositories
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here.
The Supreme Court Database
Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1791 and 2015 terms. From Washington University Law

Public Opinion & Polling

Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Database of public opinion polls containing the full text of questions and responses, from surveys, conducted in the United States and other countries around the world. Dates of coverage: 1986-current

General Social Survey
General Social Survey (GSS) is a long running survey of social, cultural and political indicators. In addition to the GSS, topic modules include computer and Internet, racial and ethnic prejudice, and child mental-health stigma. The GSS has participated since 1985 in the International Social Survey Program.
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues. See "The Databank" menu or the "Projects of the Center" section to view statistics and download data.

Mapping Data

Visualizations of data with a geographic aspect can be effective in communication. Selected starting points include

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
This Geographic Information System tool is for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, even down to the census tract or block group level. Included is an extensive data collection, with indicators organized into general categories including demographics, income and spending, housing, lending activity, quality of life, economy, education, health, federal guidelines, and other analytics.

For assistance with using maps and geospatial data:

Geospatial Services Center (GSC)
Staffed during the fall and spring semesters by students trained in GIS, the GSC provides basic-level assistance with geospatial technology and help in finding data sources for analysis using geographic information system software.

Data Management & Responsible Conduct

Data constitute the core of a research project. Data management involves establishing strategies for the creation, use, secure storage, and ongoing accessibility and preservation of research data. Data management activities contribute to organizing, documenting, finding, archiving, and sharing and re-using your data. To learn more about data management and support available at UNH:

Data Management Toolkit @ UNH
This toolkit provides information to help researchers develop data management plans and effectively manage their research data.
Responsible Conduct of Research & Scholarly Activity
This research guide provides access to a host of resources on the responsible conduct of research and scholarly activity.
Data Services at the UNH Library

Master in Public Policy Program (MPP)

For More Help

Statistical Software

Selected Sources of Data

Public Opinion & Polling

Mapping Data

Data Management & Responsible Conduct