Request PDF copies of articles and book chapters that the UNH Library owns in print or on microform. Requested documents will generally be available within two business days.
Many article-focused databases allow you to save searches, which you can rerun at a later time to update your original search
These databases also often allow you to send alerts yourself about new records that have been added to the database that satisfy the search(es) you have saved. This is an efficient way to find out what new articles or other materials are newly available that may be of interest to you. You can remove alerts or saved searches when you no longer need them.
Saving searches and setting alerts usually requires creating an account for yourself on the database's platform, for example, EBSCOhost or ProQuest.
----------
Another way to keep current is to have tables of contents (TOC) alerts for journals that are highly relevant to your topic or general disciplinary interests automatically sent to you as the TOCs are published. This can be done through the publishers' websites for the journals you're interested in or through Current Contents Connect, which is one component of the Web of Science product.
Depending on your specific topic, one of these specialized databases may be helpful. For more online resources, check out the complete Database List.
The UNH Library search box provides one-stop searching for books and e-books; articles in newspapers, journals, and magazines; and video and audio
This can be useful if you want
You can limit results to peer reviewed journals and by publication date, An advanced search with additional options is available:
Keyword searching across citations, abstracts and full text of articles (even if the full text isn't available to you).
Advantages:
Disadvantages:
Enhance efficiency by adjusting these Google Scholar settings so that
Connect to
Conference papers may discuss leading-edge research or new concepts or technologies still being developed.
Some databases such as PsycINFO, ERIC, and Sociological Abstracts include records for papers presented at conferences and/or for conference proceedings. There's usually an option to filter or limit search results to this type of document. Often only the abstract is published or available. Conference papers sometimes become the basis for articles published in journals. More recently, some conference papers may be deposited in the author's institutional repository. At times, contacting one of the presenters may be the only way to get the complete paper presented.
Two data bases that focus on conference proceedings include
