Research Guides: PSYC 904: First-Year Graduate Seminar (UNH Durham): Statistics & Data

Statistics

Statistics are available from many sources discussed elsewhere in ths guide: government agencies, think tanks, organizations, researchers, etc.; for example:

National Institute of Mental Health - Statistics
Currently available statistics on the prevalence and treatment of mental illnesses among the U.S. population. In addition, information is provided about possible consequences of mental illnesses, such as suicide and disability.
Census Quick Facts
Provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
Census Data
Demographic, economic, housing, employment, income, and other information for US communities
Simple and advanced search options, data profiles, and visualizations available.

Statistical Databases

Statista: The Statistics Portal This link opens in a new window
Tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to statistical information from federal agencies, research organizations, international organizations, commercial publishers and associations. Provides abstracts of statistical publications and links to the full-text for selected publications.

Data

Selected sources for data that may be re-used:

Data.gov
Data.gov provides metadata (descriptions) for Federal datasets, information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. Federal and Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
This data archive acquires, processes, and provides access to social science data for research and instruction. ICPSR data cover many disciplines, including political science, sociology, history, economics, gerontology, demography, criminal justice, public health, education, law, and international relations.

Note: Users must register for an account. Current UNH students, faculty, and staff only are eligible for direct downloading of all datasets. Set up ICPSR MyData login account by clicking on the link in the upper left corner of the page.

For easy mapping of data: