Research Guides: ENGL 419--How to Read Anything (UNH Manchester): Databases

Request an Article from Another Library

It is possible to request items (books, journal articles, videos, etc.) from other libraries—across town, across the state and even across the country—by using a service known as Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Interlibrary Loan Form-Article

Things to think about when searching for articles

Evaluating Articles
Here are some questions to ask yourself about articles you locate while doing research.
Keyword Grid for Searches

Remember to think critically about the material you locate while conducting research. What type of article is it? Is it an appropriate source for your paper? These guides will help you to search for articles and evaluate the articles you find.

Evaluating Articles Guide

Literature Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. Funded in part by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School. Coverage is not designed for current material, thus it does not cover information from the most recent 2 to 5 years.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
A range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Online version of Gale’s Literature Criticism series, including: Contemporary Literary Criticism; Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800; Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism; Twentieth-Century Literature Criticism; Poetry Criticism; Short Story Criticism; and Shakespearean Criticism.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic records of scholarly research from journals, books and book chapters, proceedings, and other formats. Covers research in literature, literary theory and criticism, language, dramatic arts, linguistics, and folklore.

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

"Peer Review in 3 Minutes." YouTube, uploaded by libnscu, 14 May 2014, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rOCQZ7QnoN0.

Check for Full Text

Check for Full Text – When searching for articles in databases, you will often see this button in the list of results. The "Check for Full Text" button will initiate a search in all of the UNH databases to see if the article is available in full text in another database. Taking this extra step saves you time in obtaining copies of articles.

History Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study.

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index to sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes book and media reviews and citations to abstracts of dissertations as well as journal article citations. Dates of coverage: 1955-current

JSTOR
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines.
Project MUSE
Full text of hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences.