Citing & Writing - KIN 444C - Amped Up: Social & Psychological Perspectives on Adventure (UNH Durham)

For More Help

Visit, email, chat, or schedule a consultation appointment with a subject librarian

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
A useful guide from the Olin & Uris Libraries at Cornell Univ.
The OWL at Purdue: Annotated Bibliographies
Examples and samples are included.
Annotated Bibliographies
A detailed handout from The Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

On Compiling an Annotated Bibliography by James L. Harner
ISBN: 0873529790
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
James Harner's popular pamphlet, first published in 1985, has been revised and updated in the light of advances in computer technology and the availability of humanities databases. Harner offers useful information on planning research, organizing an annotated bibliography, compiling entries, using a computer to prepare the manuscript, and editing. While the booklet focuses on the preparation of a comprehensive bibliography on a single literary author, the procedures and techniques are easily adapted to selective or subject bibliographies and to other periods and disciplines.

Plagiarism is a very serious academic transgression. To learn more, check out the following resources:

Check that any sites or books you view for examples are using the edition your instructor wants you to use.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed.
AKA "The APA Style Manual." Copies are located at the Library Research Center desk.
The OWL at Purdue APA Formatting and Style Guide
UNH Connors Writing Center Handouts on Citation Styles

Which version do you need?

Do you want ZoteroBib? It's a quick, easy way to create the occasional bibliography, without creating an account. FAQs
Or the full version of Zotero that can help you archive and curate sources over a period of time?

Download and install:

Go to Zotero.org and click Download now.
Download Zotero 6 for your operating systems AND the Zotero Connector for the browser you use.

Library Tutorials: Zotero Series
Very brief tutorials on Zotero basics
Zotero (UNH Durham)
This guide has more details on getting and using Zotero.
Zotero Video Tutorials
List of videos produced after the release of Zotero 5.0 in July 2017

Some library databases allow you to get bibliographic information in selected styles such as APA or MLA when emailing and saving records.