Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

KIN 444C - Amped Up: Social & Psychological Perspectives on Adventure (UNH Durham): More About Periodicals

Resources and services for KIN 444C.

Does UNH Subscribe To A Speciific Periodical?

Go to the Library Catalog and put in the NAME of the JOURNAL or MAGAZINE.

You can change the Collection Area to look for 'Periodicals and Newspapers' only.

DO NOT search by the Title of the Article, or by the Author(s) Names.

If UNH owns/subscribes to it you will be given the:

Online link(s)--giving date range(s) if the journal is electronically available

Call number--to find the volume on the shelf (if kept in Dimond Library)

Location--for example, Dimond Library, a branch library or Manchester General Collection

Holdings--the dates/volumes UNH own


Locating Periodicals In Dimond Library

Current Periodicals Room - Level 2

  • where new copies (generally one-two years old) are shelved
  • copies are shelved in ALPHABETICAL ORDER

Bound Periodicals - Level 2

  • where earlier copies (generally older than one-two years) are shelved
  • copies are shelved in CALL NUMBER ORDER
  • find a journal’s Call Number (the number on the volume's spine) from the Library Catalog in order to locate it on the shelves

Microforms Room - Level 2 (adjacent to the Current Periodicals Desk in Room 225)

  • where back copies of some newspapers and journals are stored on microfilm or microfiche
  • microfilm are reels of film
  • microfiche are single sheets-postcard size
  • copies can be made from both formats

What Is A Citation?

It is the information which identifies a book, journal article or electronic source.

Example 1: book

Author; Book title; Place of publication; Publisher; Year of publication.

Hardy, Thomas. Jude the obscure. New York: Modern Library, 1923.

Example 2: article

Author; Article title; Journal name; Volume/issue no, year, pages.

Morgan, Rosemarie. "Thomas Hardy." Victorian Poetry 46.3 (2008): 338-345.

What Are Periodical Indexes/Databases?

Periodical indexes, also known as databases, allow you to search for articles on your subject in many journals at once.

What will I get from an index?

ALWAYS a citation which will include:

  • Author(s) names
  • Article title
  • Journal name
  • Volume/issue no.
  • Date
  • Page no.

USUALLY an abstract, a short summary--this will help to evaluate it.

Example of an Abstract: Discusses the popularity of garage rock in 2000. History of garage rock, which started in the 1960s, when bands had emerged from garages; Influence of garage rock bands on other music genres; How music labels, such as Rhino Records, reissue the garage rock music; Simplicity of garage music.

Source: Billboard; 2/30/2000, Vol. 112 Issue 53/1, p5, 3p

SOMETIMES a full-text article

The full-text article is available on the database or through a link to the journal publisher's website. You can print it out, email it to yourself or others, save to a flashdrive, etc.

OFTEN help with basic styles for citation such as MLA, APA, etc.