Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tech 500 - Integrated CEPS Seminar I (UNH Durham): Saving & Citing

Introduction to the UNH Library's locations, collections, and services for Prof. Pazicni's Tech 500 class.

Bibliographic Management Software

RefWorks

As a UNH faculty, staff, or student you can create a free RefWorks account. RefWorks allows you to import citation information directly from many of the databases available through UNH and arrange your sources in folders.  RefWorks uses this citation information to generate and format bibliographies and in-text citations according to the style of your choosing. The RefWorks tutorials are broken down by subject and extremely helpful and easy to follow. 

Zotero

Zotero is a free, open source bibliographic management tool that operates as an extension of the Firefox browser.   Zotero allows the collection of citations to any kind of material and automatically formats bibliographies in almost any style.  Zotero also has many search, tagging, and note taking features.  Visit the Zotero quick start guide to learn more. 

EndNote

EndNote is another option, which you can buy at the UNH Computer Store (academic discount); it is also offered when you use the Web of Science database, which the library subscribes to.  This enables users to collect, organize, and format citations from Web of Science and other databases on the same platform, such as Biosis (Biological Abstracts) and Medline.  To register, go into the Web of Science database and click on "EndNote" at the top of the screen.  Endnote accounts can be accessed from any computer here or off-campus. 

Citing your sources

When to cite: Cite your sources when you: quote, paraphrase, use their ideas, or use their images.  When in doubt, cite!

How to cite:  Use the style guide recommended by your instructor.  If there is no recommendation, the Library has many books on communication and writing for engineers and others in technical professions. 

Here are a few selected ones:

About searching for articles

  • Article search: To search for articles, try the selected bibliographic databases under the "Find Articles" tab.  For interdisciplinary topics, be sure to check related databases.
  • Saving results: You may save your database search results in several formats for future use.  Options depend on the database.  See sidebar for some ways to manage your citations.
  • Get help: Don't hesitate to ask for help at the Dimond Research Center desk, or ask a branch librarian.  I am at el@unh.edu or 862-4168 or 862-1740.

Engineering & Physical Sciences Librarian

Profile Photo
Heather Castle
Contact:
33 Academic Way

Kingsbury Hall, room S236

Durham, NH 03824

603-862-4529